Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "National Library of South Africa (NLSA)" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

National Library of South Africa (NLSA) Print Page
  Search: 
 

National Library of South Africa (NLSA)

NATIONAL LIBRARY OF SOUTH AFRICA

Contact

Najwa Hendrickse (Cape Town)
Tel.: +27 21 487 5611/5625
E-mail: najwa.hendrickse@nlsa.ac.za

Cape Town:
Tel.: +(27) 21 424 6320
Fax: +(27) 21 423 3359

Pretoria:
Tel.: +(27) 12 401 9700
Fax: +(27) 12 325 5984
E-mail: info@nlsa.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
5 Queen Victoria Street
Cape Town
South Africa




228 Johannes Ramokhoase (Proes) Street
Pretoria
0001
South Africa
The National Library of South Africa
P.O. Box 496
Cape Town
8000
South Africa

The National Library of South Africa
Private Bag X990
Pretoria
0001
South Africa

Cape Town


View Larger Map

Pretoria


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 7

    1. Armstrong, John
    2. Grey, George
    3. Kramer, Hans
    4. Legal Deposit Collection
    5. Perkins Collection
    6. Robertson, Marian
    7. Sound Recordings (NLSA)

    Potential acquisitions:

    None.

        

      Scope and Content

      Broadcasts
      Brochures
      Correspondence
      Monographs
      Music manuscripts
      Newspaper cuttings
      Notes
      Periodicals
      Photographs
      Printed music
      Programmes
      Scrapbooks
      Sketch books
      Sound recordings (Gramophone records)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        Retrospective cataloguing of periodicals and newspapers.
        Retrospective cataloguing of monographs nearing completion.

            

          Navigate A-Z

          A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

          Collections A-B

          Armstrong, John
          Call number  JA 780 + Dewey number
          Type Western art music.
          Extent ca. 3238 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Card catalogue.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Vocal music. See National Library of South Africa Online Catalogue.
              

            Collections G-H

            Grey, George
            Call number  G -
            Type Liturgical music; Western art music.
            Extent ca. 5000 items.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Printed list and catalogued (electronic on Millennium).
            Description Language(s) English.
            Scope and content Brochures; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Periodicals.
            Acquisition By donation.
            Notes Contains some music. Includes early editions. See National Library of South Africa Online Catalogue.
                

              Collections K-L

              Kramer, Hans
              Call number  MSC 81
              Type Western art music.
              Extent 46 pamphlet boxes.
              Level of description Sorted.
              Access Printed list.
              Description Language(s) English.
              Scope and content Broadcasts; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
              Acquisition By donation.
              Notes Includes material relating to the 'Cape Town Concert Club'.

               

              Legal Deposit Collection
              Call number  AfrMus -
              Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
              Extent ca. 5290 items.
              Level of description Sorted.
              Access Card catalogue (composer and title). Electronic catalogue.
              Description Language(s) English.
              Scope and content Monographs; Periodicals; Printed music.
              Acquisition By donation.
              Notes See National Library of South Africa Online Catalogue.
              Description Language(s) English.
              Scope and content Monographs; Periodicals; Printed music.
              Acquisition By donation.
              Notes -
                  

                Collections O-P

                Perkins Collection
                Call number  P + Accession year
                Type Western art music.
                Extent ca. 140 556 items.
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Card catalogue. Electronic catalogue.
                Description Language(s) English.
                Scope and content Monographs.
                Acquisition By donation.
                Notes General collection for non-Africana items. See National Library of South Africa Online Catalogue.
                    

                  Collections Q-R

                  Robertson, Marian
                  Call number  -
                  Type Western art music.
                  Extent 34 pamphlet boxes.
                  Level of description Sorted.
                  Access Card catalogue.
                  Description Language(s) English.
                  Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
                  Acquisition By donation.
                  Notes See also Marian Robertson Collection at University of Cape Town (UCT): Rare Books & Special Collections.
                      

                    Collections S-T

                    Sound Recordings (NLSA)
                    Call number  -
                    Type Western art music.
                    Extent 78 items.
                    Level of description Sorted.
                    Access Card catalogue.
                    Description Language(s) English.
                    Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
                    Acquisition By donation.
                    Notes Located in Government Publications section.
                        
                      Description

                      Loading  Loading...

                      Tip