Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "University of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies Library" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

University of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies Library Print Page
  Search: 
 

UCT Special Collections: African Studies

UCT SPECIAL COLLECTIONS: AFRICAN STUDIES LIBRARY

Contact

Beverley Angus
E-mail: Beverley.angus@uct.ac.za

Busi Kangala
E-mail: 
busi.kangala@uct.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Special Collections:African Studies
Chancellor Oppenheimer Library
Upper Campus
University of Cape Town
South Africa
UCT Special Collections: African Studies
Private Bag X3
Rondebosch
7701
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 2

    1. Films (UCT)
    2. MacMillan Press Clippings

    Potential acquisitions:

    Active collection of items to expand collection.

        

      Scope and Content

      Newspaper cuttings
      Sound recordings (Films)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):

        • Digitization projects:
          • Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA)
          • Atlas of Mutual Heritage (joint project of National Archives and Rijksmuseum in Netherlands): Digitization of maps in era VOC to 1800.
          • Posters: Liberation struggles of SADC countries.
        • Bibliographies: Topics of current research interests which are hard to source (will be available from homepage).
            

          Navigate A-Z

          A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

          Collections E-F

          Films (UCT)
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
          Extent ca. 2000 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Sorted by title.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Sound recordings (Films).
          Acquisition By donation and purchase.
          Notes Some films with topic of music. See UCT Film Collection.
              

            Collections M-N

            MacMillan Press Clippings
            Call number  -
            Type African music; Anthems; Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
            Extent ca. 5000 files.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Print and electronic finding aid.
            Description Language(s) English.
            Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
            Acquisition By donation and purchase.
            Notes ca. 1950 to date. Now slowing down due to work of SAMedia. See UCT Newspaper Clippings.
                
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip