Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music Library" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music Library Print Page
  Search: 
 

UKZN: Eleanor Bonnar Music Library

Contact

Ms Andrea Vorster (Music Branch Librarian)
Tel.:  +27 31 260 3044
Fax:  +27 31 260 2051
E-mail:  vorsteran@ukzn.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Eleanor Bonnar Music Library
244 King George V Avenue
Durban
4041
South Africa
Eleanor Bonnar Music Library
244 King George V Avenue
Durban
4041
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 4

    1. Black South African Popular Music
    2. Ethnomusicological Record Collection
    3. Hunter, Malcolm
    4. Lowe, Wilf 

    Potential acquisitions:

    None.

        

      Scope and Content

      Sound recordings (Gramophone records; Sound cassettes)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        Digitization of black South African popular music at DISA, University of KwaZulu-Natal. See http://www.disa.ukzn.ac.za/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=66&Itemid=70.

            

          Navigate A-Z

          A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

          Collections A-B

          Black South African Popular Music (UKZN)
          Call number  -
          Type Popular music.
          Extent 119 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Card catalogue. Indexed according to performer, title and record company.
          Description Language(s) English
          Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -
              

            Collections E-F

            Ethnomusicological Record Collection (UKZN)
            Call number  -
            Type African music; Folk music.
            Extent 1242 items.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Card catalogue.
            Description Language(s) English
            Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
            Acquisition By donation.
            Notes Ethnic Folkways; UNESCO; OCORA; The Sound of Africa.
                

              Collections G-H

              Hunter, Malcolm
              Call number  -
              Type Popular music.
              Extent 3 700 items.
              Level of description Sorted.
              Access Card catalogue. Uniterm System of Indexing.
              Description Language(s) English
              Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
              Acquisition By donation.
              Notes -
                  

                Collections K-L

                Lowe, Wilf
                Call number  -
                Type Popular music.
                Extent 2236 items.
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Card catalogue. Alphabetical indexing by performer.
                Description Language(s) English
                Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
                Acquisition By purchase.
                Notes -
                    
                  Description

                  Loading  Loading...

                  Tip