Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "University of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

University of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library Print Page
  Search: 
 

UKZN: Killie Campbell Library

Contact

Ms Yvonne Winters
Tel.: +27 31 260 1711
Fax: +27 31 209 1622
E-mail: wintersy@ukzn.ac.za

Library Enquiries
Tel.: +27 31 260 1720
Fax: +27 31 209 1622
Email: campbellcollections@ukzn.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Campbell Collections
220 Gladys Mazibuko Road
Durban
4001
Campbell Collections
220 Gladys Mazibuko Road
Durban
4001


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 10

    1. Africana, General
    2. Campbell, Killie
    3. Dargie, David
    4. Dawes, H. Edmund
    5. Musical Instruments
    6. News Books
    7. O’Donnell, Rudolf
    8. Oral History Archives
    9. Souvenir Programmes
    10. Videos

    Potential acquisitions:

    None.

        

      Scope and Content

      Broadcasts
      Correspondence
      Interviews
      Monographs
      Music manuscripts
      Musical instruments
      Music scores
      Newspaper cuttings
      Programmes
      Sound recordings (Sound cassettes; Videos)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Navigate A-Z

          A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

          Collections A-B

          Africana General (UKZN)
          Call number   -
          Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music.
          Extent ca. 340 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic. Library catalogue (iLink).
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Monographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (DVDs; Sound cassettes; Videos).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -
              

            Collections C-D

            Campbell, Killie
            Call number  MS CAM
            Type African music; Western art music.
            Extent ca. 3870 items.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Card catalogue. Find according to topic. Electronic library catalogue (iLink). Sorted according to date.
            Description Language(s) English.
            Scope and content Correspondence; Diaries; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Personal documents.
            Acquisition By donation.
            Notes Various topics. Folders contain some music. Search term: “Killie Campbell Papers”.

             

            Dargie, David (UKZN)
            Call number  MS DAR
            Type African music.
            Extent 3 folders.
            Level of description Sorted
            Access Card catalogue. Electronic library catalogue (iLink).
            Description Language(s) English
            Scope and content Notes; Photographs.
            Acquisition By donation.
            Notes Search term: “David Dargie Papers”.

             

            Dawes, H. Edmund
            Call number  MS DAW
            Type African music; Military music; Western art music.
            Extent 3 folders.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Card catalogue. Electronic library catalogue (iLink).
            Description Language(s) English.
            Scope and content Broadcasts; Interviews; Notes.
            Acquisition By donation.
            Notes Historic accounts of Durban and KwaZulu-Natal. Search term: “H. Edmund Dawes”.
                

              Collections M-N

              Musical Instruments (UKZN)
              Call number  -
              Type African music.
              Extent ca. 30 items.
              Level of description Sorted.
              Access Accession register.
              Description Language(s) English.
              Scope and content Musical instruments.
              Acquisition By donation.
              Notes Located in Killie Campbell Museum.

               

              News Books (UKZN)
              Call number  -
              Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education.
              Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
              Level of description ca. 11 books.
              Access Card catalogue.
              Description Language(s) English.
              Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
              Acquisition By donation.
              Notes Books contain some cuttings on music.
                  

                Collections O-P

                O’Donnell, Rudolf
                Call number  MS ODO
                Type Western art music.
                Extent 1 item.
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Card catalogue. Electronic library catalogue (iLink).
                Description Language(s) English.
                Scope and content Music manuscripts.
                Acquisition By donation.
                Notes Search term: “Rudolf O’Donnell”.

                 

                Oral History Archives (UKZN)
                Call number  -
                Type African music.
                Extent 3 items.
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Card catalogue.
                Description Language(s) English.
                Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
                Acquisition By donation.
                Notes -
                    

                  Collections S-T

                  Souvenir Programmes (UKZN)
                  Call number  -
                  Type African music; Popular music; Western art music.
                  Extent 31 pamphlet boxes.
                  Level of description Unsorted.
                  Access Uncatalogued.
                  Description Language(s) -
                  Scope and content Programmes.
                  Acquisition By donation.
                  Notes Theatre programmes. Some music programmes included.
                      

                    Collections U-V

                    Videos (UKZN)
                    Call number  -
                    Type African music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Western art music.
                    Extent ca. 38 items.
                    Level of description Sorted.
                    Access Electronic library catalogue (iLink).
                    Description Language(s) English.
                    Scope and content Sound recordings (Videos).
                    Acquisition By donation.
                    Notes Power search: keyword “music".
                        
                      Description

                      Loading  Loading...

                      Tip