Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service Print Page
  Search: 
 

Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service

Contact

Africana:

Ms Melani Ismael
E-mail:   melani@sun.ac.za
Tel.:      +27 21 808 4887

Rare books:

Mrs Anneke Schaafsma
Tel.:      +27 021 808 4012
E-mail:   anneke@sun.ac.za

Manuscripts:

Mrs Lynne Fourie
E-mail:   lf2@sun.ac.za

Mrs Marina Brink
E-mail:   mbrink@sun.ac.za

Tel.:      +27 21 808 4881
Fax:      +27 21 808 3723

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Special Collections Division
Upper Level

Stellenbosch University Library
Stellenbosch University
South Africa
Special Collections Division
Stellenbosch University Library
University of Stellenbosch
Private Bag X5036
Stellenbosch
7599
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 16

    1. Bouws, Jan
    2. Cillié, G.G.
    3. Cillié, Hettie
    4. Cluver, A. de V.
    5. Goldblatt, Sarah
    6. Holm, D.
    7. Langenhoven, C.J.
    8. Leyds, W.J.
    9. McLachlan, Philip
    10. Nepgen, Rosa
    11. Ons Spreekuur
    12. Oosthuizen, P.J.
    13. Pienaar, E.C.
    14. Van der Bijl, J.
    15. Van der Merwe, D.F.
    16. Viljoen, C.

    Potential acquisitions:

    None.

        

      Scope and Content

      Annual reports
      Architectural plans
      Articles
      Broadcasts
      Contracts
      Correspondence
      Financial documents
      Lectures
      Monographs
      Music manuscripts
      Newspaper cuttings
      Notes
      Photographs
      Printed music
      Programmes
      Reports
      Reviews
      Scrapbooks
      Sound recordings (Sound cassettes)
      Stamps

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Navigate A-Z

          A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

          Collections A-B

          Bouws, Jan
          Call number  227
          Type Folk music; Western art music.
          Extent 4 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Printed list.
          Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
          Scope and content Correspondence; Notes.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -
              

            Collections C-D

            Cillié, G.G.
            Call number  210
            Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
            Extent 169 pamphlet boxes.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Printed catalogue.
            Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
            Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
            Acquisition By donation.
            Notes Music in boxes 91-137. See also Cillié, Hettie (Stellenbosch University J.S.Gericke Library, Special Collections, 201).

             

            Cillié, Hettie
            Call number  201
            Type Music education; Western art music.
            Extent 1 item.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Uncatalogued
            Description Language(s) -
            Scope and content Scrapbooks (Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs).
            Acquisition By donation.
            Notes See also Cillié, G.G. (Stellenbosch University J.S. Gericke Library, Special Collections, 210).

             

            Cluver, A. de V.
            Call number  11
            Type Music education; Popular music.
            Extent ca. 140 items.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Printed list.
            Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
            Scope and content Correspondence; Photographs; Printed music.
            Acquisition By donation.
            Notes -
                

              Collections G-H

              Goldblatt, Sarah
              Call number  G 202
              Type Folk music; Music education; Western art music.
              Extent ca. 51 pamphlet boxes.
              Level of description Sorted.
              Access Printed list.
              Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
              Scope and content Broadcasts; Correspondence; Diaries; Lectures; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music.
              Acquisition By donation.
              Notes Contains some music items. See also Langenhoven, C.J. (202), Stellenbosch University J.S. Gericke Library, Special Collections.

               

              Holm, D.
              Call number  162
              Type Western art music.
              Extent 1 item.
              Level of description Sorted.
              Access Printed list.
              Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
              Scope and content Music manuscripts (copies).
              Acquisition By donation.
              Notes -
                  

                Collections K-L

                Langenhoven, C.J.
                Call number  202
                Type Anthems; Folk music; Music education; Western art music.
                Extent 126 pamphlet boxes.
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Printed list.
                Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
                Scope and content Contracts; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Printed music.
                Acquisition By donation.
                Notes Contains some music and Eisteddfod items. See also Goldblatt, S. (G202), Stellenbosch University J.S. Gericke Library, Special Collections.

                 

                Leyds, W.J.
                Call number  130
                Type Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
                Extent ca. 23 m (not in boxes).
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Uncatalogued.
                Description Language(s) -
                Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs.
                Acquisition By donation.
                Notes Relating to Boer War and Paul Kruger.
                    

                  Collections M-N

                  McLachlan, Philip
                  Call number  218
                  Type Music education; Western art music.
                  Extent 18 pamphlet boxes.
                  Level of description Sorted.
                  Access Printed list.
                  Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
                  Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Reviews; Scrapbooks.
                  Acquisition By donation.
                  Notes Items regarding Stellenbosch University Choir.

                   

                  Nepgen, Rosa
                  Call number  158
                  Type Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
                  Extent ca. 4 pamphlet boxes.
                  Level of description Unsorted.
                  Access No list available.
                  Description Language(s) -
                  Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
                  Acquisition By donation.
                  Notes Addition to W.E.G. Louw Collection (158), Stellenbosch University J.S. Gericke Library, Special Collections.
                      

                    Collections O-P

                    Ons Spreekuur
                    Call number  97
                    Type Folk music; Western art music.
                    Extent ca. 7 pamphlet boxes.
                    Level of description Sorted.
                    Access Printed list.
                    Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
                    Scope and content Annual reports; Architectural plans; Correspondence; Financial documents; Lectures; Newspaper cuttings; Programmes.
                    Acquisition By donation.
                    Notes -

                     

                    Oosthuizen, P.J.
                    Call number  219
                    Type African music; Anthems.
                    Extent 5 items.
                    Level of description Sorted.
                    Access Printed list.
                    Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
                    Scope and content Music manuscripts (copies); Newspaper cuttings; Notes.
                    Acquisition By donation.
                    Notes Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrika.

                     

                    Pienaar, E.C.
                    Call number  48
                    Type Liturgical music; Music education.
                    Extent 17 pamphlet boxes.
                    Level of description Sorted.
                    Access Printed list.
                    Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
                    Scope and content Articles; Broadcasts; Correspondence; Lectures; Monographs; Notes.
                    Acquisition By donation.
                    Notes -
                        

                      Collections U-V

                      Van der Bijl, J.
                      Call number  65
                      Type Music education; Popular music.
                      Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
                      Level of description Sorted.
                      Access Printed list.
                      Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
                      Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Poems; Programmes; Stamps.
                      Acquisition By donation.
                      Notes -

                       

                      Van der Merwe, D.F.
                      Call number  245
                      Type Liturgical music.
                      Extent 1 item.
                      Level of description Sorted.
                      Access No list available.
                      Description Language(s) -
                      Scope and content Reports.
                      Acquisition By donation.
                      Notes Kweekskoolkoor.

                       

                      Viljoen, C.
                      Call number  74
                      Type Folk music.
                      Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
                      Level of description Sorted.
                      Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
                      Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
                      Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals.
                      Acquisition By donation.
                      Notes -
                          
                        Description

                        Loading  Loading...

                        Tip