This guide contains information and links to the top accredited consumer health websites; consumer health information and health information services from the Faculty of Medicine & Health Sciences, Stellenbosch University.
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2015
Good quality information on health and disease for the general public, with over 750 patient information leaflets
One of the most trusted medical resources in the UK, supplying evidence based information on a wide range of medical and health topics to patients and health professionals.
Online service for patients bringing together information from the US Natl Library of Medicine and other organisations
- Biomedical Search
BioMedSearch is a biomedical search engine that contains NIH/PubMed documents, plus a large collection of theses, dissertations, and other publications not found anywhere else for free.
- Interventions for children on the autism spectrum - video clips
ASD Video Glossary, an innovative web-based tool designed to help parents and professionals learn more about the early red flags and diagnostic features of autism spectrum disorders (ASD). From: University of Alabama ASD centre
- MEDBOX - OA online healthcare library: health action worldwide
"For humanitarian professionals working to improve the quality of healthcare worldwide. An independent internet platform supported by international agencies and scientific institutions active in humanitarian assistance and development work, MEDBOX collates professional guidelines, textbooks and practical documents on health action and makes them accessible to health workers online".
Currently contains around 1,200 documents on all aspects of health action.
These top health websites complies with the HONcode (Health on the net code) which is a standard for trustworthy health information. The HONcode is a code of ethics that guides site managers in setting up a minimum set of mechanisms to provide quality, objective and transparent medical information tailored to the needs of the audience.
- Poison Information Centre (Acute)
For acute poisoning enquiries
Please note the Poison Information Centre's 24 hour emergency number has changed to 0861 555 777 (as from Jun 2015)
- NICUS - Nutrition information Centre
The Centre was established in 1997 to act as a reliable and independent source of nutrition information in South Africa.
The prime aim of the Centre is to provide and appropriate information on issues of food and nutrition. The service is accessible to the public, the media, health professionals and the food industry.
Schools and learners are welcome to contact the Centre for information and also to arrange talks on nutritional related issues.
- Mental Health Information Centre(MHIC)
Information on various mental health related issues, as well as an extensive database of health care professionals with a specialisation in mental health.
Their goal is to address stigma associated with mental illness by raising mental health awareness in South African communities They also strive to be actively involved in connecting mental health professionals, as well as promoting clinical awareness of mental health issues.
Feel free to browse the site, utilize the resources and contact them with any comments or queries. People can leave short messages (name and contact number) on an answering machine and the director of the centre will call back and assess the queries.
A web-based information portal developed by the South African Medical Research Council. It provides up-to-date, scientifically accurate information on the Human Immunodeficiency Virus and Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (HIV/AIDS) with a specific focus on the southern African region.
- SA HealthInfo
This health knowledge network is a popular platform for scientific research output of university based and MRC research.
- Health Systems Trust
Provides an e-health information service by hosting electronic discussion forums and mailing lists
South Africa's premier health and wellness site, provides world-class information and interactive tools for a healthy lifestyle. ...
- SA Foods
SAFOODS contains information on the energy and nutrient content of foods generally consumed by South Africans
These presentations were delivered at the 14th annual LIASA conference, held in Durban from 1-5 October 2012.
A hands-on course, from National Network of Libraries of Medicine, which focuses on the advanced search features of web search engines and online searching.