Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "NELM" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

NELM Print Page
  Search: 
 

NELM, Grahamstown

National English Literary Museum (NELM)

Contact

Crystal Warren
Tel.:  +27 46 622 7042
Fax:  +27 46 622 2582   
E-mail:  c.warren@ru.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
NELM
87 Beaufort Street
Grahamstown
6140
South Africa
National English Literary Museum (NELM)
Private Bag 1019
Grahamstown
6140
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 7

    1. Articles
    2. Farmer, Anthony
    3. Gluckman, Leon
    4. Monographs
    5. Press Clippings
    6. Sound Recordings
    7. Tucker, Percy

    Potential acquisitions:

    Continual theatre archives donations which may contain material relating to South African music.

        

      Scope and Content

      Artefacts
      Articles
      Correspondence
      Financial documents
      Monographs
      Music manuscripts
      Newspaper cuttings
      Notes
      Objets d’art (Sketches: Stage designs)
      Periodicals
      Photographs
      Printed music
      Programmes
      Reviews
      Scrapbooks
      Scripts
      Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Collections

          Articles
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
          Extent 253 items.
          Level of description Catalogued.
          Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
          Accessible at NELM.
          Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD)
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Printed music.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Farmer, Anthony
          Call number  2007.18 
          Type African music; Popular music.
          Extent Sound recordings: 10 m; Correspondence: 2 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Catalogued.
          Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
          Accessible at NELM.
          Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD)
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Financial documents; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Sketches: Stage designs); Photographs; Printed music; Scripts; Sound recordings (Gramophone records; Sound cassettes).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Includes items on Ipi Tombi and the musical, King Kong.

           

          Gluckman, Leon
          Call number  95.2
          Type African music; Popular music.
          Extent ca. 234 items.
          Level of description Catalogued.
          Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes; Reviews; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Items regarding the musical, King Kong.

           

          Monographs
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Folk music; Popular music.
          Extent ca. 60 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Monographs.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Press Clippings
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Folk music; Popular music.
          Extent ca. 300 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Newspaper cuttings; Reviews.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Cuttings on South African drama and musicals.
          Includes cuttings on Port Elizabeth Music and Drama Society.
          General search with keyword “music”.

           

          Sound Recordings
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Folk music; Popular music.
          Extent ca. 52 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
          Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English.
          Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Tucker, Percy
          Call number  2001.20
          Type Popular music; Western art music.
          Extent ca. 140 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Arranged alphabetically. To be catalogued.
          Description Language(s) -
          Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Programmes.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Founder of Computicket ticket-selling agency.
              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip