Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "University of Fort Hare: NAHECS" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

University of Fort Hare: NAHECS Print Page
  Search: 
 

University of Fort Hare: National Heritage and Cultural Studies (NAHECS)

Contact

Prof. Mr. Mosoabuli Maamoe (Archivist)
Tel.:  +27 40 602 2515
E-mail:  mmaamoe@ufh.ac.za

Mr. Mark Snyders
Tel.:  +27 40 602 2363
Tel.:  +27 40 602 2277
E-mail:  msnyders@ufh.ac.za

Prof. Bernhard Bleibinger (Indigenous Music Project)
Tel.:  +27 40 602 2546
E-mail:  bbleibinger@ufh.ac.za

Prof. Thomas (Oral History Project)
Tel.:  +27 40 602 2277

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
NAHECS
Main Campus
Alice
5700
South Africa
NAHECS, University of Fort Hare Library
Private Bag X1322
Alice
5700
South Africa



View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 3

    1. Dargie, David
    2. Jordan, Archibald Campbell
    3. Lovedale Press

    Potential acquisitions:

    Works of African scholars and composers.

        

      Scope and Content

      Administrative records
      Correspondence
      Monographs
      Music manuscripts
      Newspaper cuttings
      Printed music
      Sound Recordings (CDs; DVDs; Videos)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):

        None.

        Research projects (current):

        Indigenous Music and Oral History Project.

            

          Collections

          Africana and Rare Books
          Dargie, David
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music.
          Extent 64 items.
          Level of description Unsorted; Sorted.
          Access Electronic: Catalogued on University of Fort Hare Library catalogue. See http://opac.seals.ac.za/search~S9.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Monographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs; DVDs; Videos).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Keyword search ("Dargie") on the catalogue.

           

          Jordan, Archibald Campbell
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Folk music; Popular music.
          Extent 70 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Finding aid (electronic). See http://www.liberation.org.za/library/nahecs/Cultural Heritage/acjordan.htm.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Correspondence; Manuscripts; Printed music; Newspaper cuttings.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Lovedale Press
          Call number  AT
          Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music.
          Extent 46 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Finding aid (electronic). See http://www.liberation.org.za/library/NAHECS/Cultural Heritage/lovedale.htm.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Administrative records; Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -
              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip