Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "Johannesburg Public Library" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

Johannesburg Public Library Print Page
  Search: 
 

Johannesburg Public Library: Harold Strange Library of African Studies

Contact

     

Mrs. Linda Boswell
Tel.:  +27 11 870 1242/3
Fax:  +27 11 870 1252
E-mail:  lindabos@joburg.org.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Harold Strange Library of African Studies
First Floor, Central Library
Johannesburg Public Library
Beyers Naudé Square
Johannesburg
2001
South Africa
The Director
Library Services
Harold Strange Library of African Studies
Johannesburg Public Library
Beyers Naudé Square
Johannesburg
2001
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 2

    1. Africana (Johannesburg Public Library)
    2. Strange Theatre Collection

    Potential acquisitions:

    Continual donations of South African music material.

        

      Scope and Content

      Bibliographies
      Brochures
      Catalogues
      Constitutions
      Correspondence
      Financial documents
      Libretti
      Minutes of meetings
      Monographs
      Music scores
      Newsletters
      Newspaper cuttings
      Notes
      Programmes
      Scrapbooks

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Collections

          Africana (Johannesburg Public Library)
          Call number  Dewey 78, followed by name of musician
          Type African music; Anthems; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
          Extent ca. 5820 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Card catalogue.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Bibliographies; Brochures; Catalogues; Constitutions; Correspondence; Financial documents; Libretti; Minutes; Monographs; Music scores; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Currently converting to electronic database (Urika).

           

          Strange Theatre Collection
          Call number  STC, followed by artist, alphabetically arranged
          Type African music; Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
          Extent 1044 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Card catalogue: DDC 16 and Universal Cataloguing System.
          Description Language(s) English
          Scope and content Programmes.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Theatre programmes.
              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip