Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "National Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

National Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA) Print Page
  Search: 
 

National Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)

Contact

Mr. Christopher Grové
Tel.:  +27 12 441 3169
E-mail:  ChristopherG@dac.gov.za

Tel:  +27 12  441 3150
Fax:  +27 12 441 3199
Fax to e-mail:  +27 86 529 5729
E-mail: Film.Enquiries@dac.gov.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
National Film, Video and Sound Archives
239 Vermeulen Street
Pretoria
0083
South Africa
National Film, Video and Sound Archives
Private Bag X236
Pretoria
0001
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 4

    1. Audio cassettes (NFVSA)
    2. Compact discs (NFVSA)
    3. Gramophone records (NFVSA)
    4. Reel tapes (NFVSA)

    Potential acquisitions:

    Continual new donations of South African music material.

        

      Scope and Content

      Sound Recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Collections

          Audio Cassettes (NFVSA)
          Call number  OK-
          Type Western art music.
          Extent ca. 4600 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic: Electronic: Microsoft Word; Printed catalogue.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Compact Discs (NFVSA)
          Call number  CD-
          Type Western art music.
          Extent ca. 1700 items (accessioned).
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic: Electronic: Microsoft Word; Printed catalogue.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Only 750 listed.

           

          Gramophone Records (NFVSA)
          Call number  R-
          Type African music; Folk music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
          Extent ca. 5500 items (accessioned).
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic: Electronic: Microsoft Word; Printed catalogue.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Speeches, music albums and language recordings.

           

          Reel Tapes (NFVSA)
          Call number  -
          Type Western art music.
          Extent Item list lost.
          Level of description Unsorted.
          Access [Uncatalogued].
          Description Language(s) -
          Scope and content Sound recordings (Reel tapes).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Listed in 2001. Register lost.
              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip