Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "SABC Music Library" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

SABC Music Library Print Page
  Search: 
 

South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) Music Library

Contact

Suzette Lombard

Tel.:  +27 11 714 2740
Fax:  +27 11 714 3537
E-mail:  lombards@sabc.co.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
SABC Music Library
Radiopark Building
Cnr Kingsway and Henley Road
Auckland Park
Johannesburg
South Africa
SABC Music Library
P.O. Box 931
Auckland Park
Johannesburg
2006
South Africa


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 3

  1. National Symphony Orchestra
  2. SABC Music Library (Catalogued)
  3. SABC Music Library (Uncatalogued)

Potential acquisitions:

African music.

      

    Scope and Content

    Agendas
    Brochures
    Contracts
    Correspondence
    Financial documents
    Inventories
    Lending records
    Mailing lists
    Minutes
    Monographs
    Music manuscripts
    Newspaper cuttings
    Notes
    Photographic negatives
    Photographs
    Posters
    Press releases
    Printed music
    Programme notes
    Programmes
    Schedules
    Speeches

        

      Research Projects

      Research projects (complete):
      None.

      Research projects (current):
      None.

          

        Collections

        National Symphony Orchestra
        Call number  -
        Type African music; Popular music; Western art music.
        Extent 150 items; 11 steel cabinets; 1 folder; 4 m.
        Level of description Unsorted.
        Access Uncatalogued.
        Description Language(s) -
        Scope and content Agendas; Brochures; Contracts; Correspondence; Financial documents; Inventories; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographic negatives; Photographs; Posters; Press releases; Programme notes; Programmes; Schedules; Speeches.
        Acquisition By donation.
        Notes -

         

        SABC Music Library (Catalogued)
        Call number  -
        Type Popular music; Western art music.
        Extent ca. 870 items; ca. 12.2 m.
        Level of description Sorted.
        Access Card catalogue (Music scores); Programmes arranged according to year; Biographical and programme notes arranged alphabetically.
        Description Language(s) English.
        Scope and content Brochures; Financial documents; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Printed music; Programmes; Schedules.
        Acquisition By donation.
        Notes -

         

        SABC Music Library (Uncatalogued)
        Call number  -
        Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
        Extent 31 scrapbooks; ca. 48 m.
        Level of description Sorted.
        Access Uncatalogued.
        Description Language(s) English.
        Scope and content Brochures; Contracts; Correspondence; Financial documents; Lending records; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programme notes; Programmes.
        Acquisition By donation.
        Notes -
            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip