Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "SABC Radio Archives" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

SABC Radio Archives Print Page
  Search: 
 

South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC) Radio Archives

Contact

Refiloe Jele

Tel.:  +27 11 714 4879
Fax:  +27 11 714 4281
E-mail:  jeler@sabc.co.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
SABC Radio Archives
Radiopark Building
Cnr Kingsway and Henley Road
Auckland Park
Johannesburg
South Africa
SABC Radio Archives
P.O. Box 931
Auckland Park
Johannesburg
2006
South Africa


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 4

  1. JAD Room / Deep Archives
  2. Production Notes (SABC)
  3. Programmes (SABC)
  4. Radio Stations (Backlog)

Potential acquisitions:

Continual donations.

      

    Scope and Content

    Notes
    Programmes
    Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Gramophone records; Mini discs; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos)

        

      Research Projects

      Research projects (complete):
      Sangers van Weleer (1940-1950).
      Musicians (1998).

      Research projects (current):
      Biographies of black musicians (interviews, etc.).

          

        Collections

        JAD Room / Deep Archives
        Call number  -
        Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
        Extent 17 145 items.
        Level of description Sorted.
        Access Electronic catalogue: NDM (Mainframe); System not open to public; Dalet system for users (pending).
        Description Language(s) English.
        Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes).
        Acquisition By donation.
        Notes Radio stations: Radio Sonder Grense (RSG), SAFM, Radio 2000, 5FM, Metro FM. Oral tradition collections. Collections of institutions.

         

        Production Notes (SABC)
        Call number  -
        Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
        Extent 15 folders.
        Level of description Unsorted.
        Access Uncatalogued.
        Description Language(s) -
        Scope and content Notes.
        Acquisition By donation.
        Notes -

         

        Programmes (SABC)
        Call number  -
        Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
        Extent 44 pamphlet boxes.
        Level of description Unsorted.
        Access Uncatalogued.
        Description Language(s) -
        Scope and content Programmes.
        Acquisition By donation.
        Notes -

         

        Radio Stations (Backlog)
        Call number  -
        Type African music; Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
        Extent 13 151 items.
        Level of description Sorted.
        Access Uncatalogued. Accessed through date or name of programmes.
        Description Language(s) -
        Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; DAT tapes; Mini discs; Reel tapes; Sound cassettes; Videos).
        Acquisition By donation.
        Notes Radio stations: Radio Sonder Grense (RSG), SAFM, Radio 2000, 5FM, Metro FM. Oral tradition collections. Collections of institutions.
            
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip