Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "South African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

South African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH) Print Page
  Search: 
 

South African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)

SOUTH AFRICAN NATIONAL MUSEUM OF MILITARY HISTORY

Contact

Major John Keene (Director)
Tel.:  +27 11 646 5513
Fax:  +27 11 646 5256
E-mail:  milmus@ditsong.org.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
South African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)
Erlswold Way
Saxonwold
2132
South Africa
South African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)
P.O. Box 52090
Saxonwold
2132
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 5

    1. Artefacts (SANMMH)
    2. Individual Items (SANMMH)
    3. Musical Instruments (SANMMH)
    4. Photographs (SANMMH)
    5. Sound Recordings (SANMMH)

    Potential acquisitions:

    General donations of individual items.

        

      Scope and Content

      Artefacts (Insignia; Models)
      Brochures
      Correspondence
      Monographs
      Musical instruments
      Music manuscripts
      Newspaper cuttings
      Notes
      Objets d’art (Paintings)
      Periodicals
      Photographs
      Printed music
      Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes)
      Textiles (Banners; Uniforms)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Collections

          Artefacts (SANMMH)
          Call number  -
          Type Military music.
          Extent ca 75 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Card catalogue.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Artefacts (Insignia; Badges; Models); Objets d’art (Paintings); Textiles (Banners; Uniforms).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Located in museum.

           

          Individual Items (SANMMH)
          Call number  355.346
          Type Military music.
          Extent ca. 123 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Card catalogue.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Brochures; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs; Sound cassettes).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Arranged alphabetically according to subject, author or title. Located in museum library.

           

          Musical Instruments (SANMMH)
          Call number  -
          Type -
          Extent ca. 26 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic inventory (Microsoft Word).
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Musical instuments.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Located in museum.

           

          Photographs (SANMMH)
          Call number  -
          Type African music; Military music.
          Extent ca. 8000 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Card Catalogue: Catalogued under 'Recreation'.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Photographs.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Contains ca. 150 music related items. Located in museum and in museum library.

           

          Sound Recordings (SANMMH)
          Call number  -
          Type Military music.
          Extent ca. 150 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Accession register and Electronic: Microsoft Word.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Recordings of music, speeches, programmes and sounds. Located in museum library.
              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip