Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "University of Johannesburg" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

University of Johannesburg Print Page
  Search: 
 

University of Johannesburg: Rare Book Collection and University Archives

Contact

Ms. Riette Zaaiman (Manager)
Tel.:  +27 11 559 6882 / 6277 / 6890
Fax:  +27 11 726 7723
E-mail:  riettez@uj.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Archiving, Special Collections and Institutional Repository
Auckland Park Kingsway Campus Library
Cnr Kingsway and University Road
Auckland Park
Johannesburg
South Africa
The Head
Archiving, Special Collections and Institutional Repository
University of Johannesburg Library and Information Centre

Auckland Park
Johannesburg
2006
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 7

    1. De Koker, Louis
    2. Grobbelaar, Michael
    3. Groenewald, A.J.
    4. Malan, Frieda
    5. Music Scores (University of Johannesburg)
    6. Pretorius, Johannes
    7. Warffemius, Nilo

    Potential acquisitions:

    None.

        

      Scope and Content

      Certificates
      Music manuscripts
      Newspaper cuttings
      Printed music
      Programmes
      Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Collections

          De Koker, Louis
          Call number  B31
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 6 m.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Arranged according to composer. No inventory.
          Description Language(s) -
          Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Grobbelaar, Michael
          Call number  A79; B21
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 12.10 m.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic (Microsoft Word) and printed inventory.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Programmes.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Groenewald, A.J.
          Call number  A44
          Type Folk music
          Extent 5 cm.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic (Innopac) and printed inventory.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Certificates; Newspaper cuttings; Printed music; Programmes.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Malan, Frieda
          Call number  A120
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 16 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic (Innopac) and printed inventory.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Printed music.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Music Scores (University of Johannesburg)
          Call number  -
          Type Western art music.
          Extent ca. 100 items.
          Level of description Unsorted.
          Access Uncatalogued.
          Description Language(s) -
          Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Pretorius, Johannes
          Call number -
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 4500 items.
          Level of description Unsorted.
          Access Uncatalogued.
          Description Language(s) -
          Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Generally referred to as 'Plateversameling' [Record collection].

           

          Warffemius, Nilo
          Call number  B4
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 2.2 m.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic and printed inventory.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music; Programmes.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -
              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip