Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "University of Pretoria Library" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

University of Pretoria Library Print Page
  Search: 
 

University of Pretoria: Merensky Library

University of Pretoria: Merensky Library

Mrs. Eridine Roux (Information Specialist)
Tel.:  +27 12 420 4787
Fax:  +27 12 362 5100
E-mail:  eridine.roux@up.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Merensky Library
Level 5 (Old Merensky)
Lynnwood Road
University of Pretoria
Main Campus (Hatfield)
Pretoria
South Africa
Faculty Library for Humanities
Department of Library Services
University of Pretoria
Pretoria
0002
South Africa


View Larger Map

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 10

    1. Bender, Anna
    2. Coertse, Mimi
    3. Hofmeyr, Hendrik
    4. Jolly, Margaret
    5. Lambrecht, Sarie
    6. Malan, Pierre
    7. Napier, Marita
    8. Roux, Isak
    9. Sound Recordings (University of Pretoria)
    10. Van der Merwe, F.Z.

    Potential acquisitions:

    General acquisition of collections.
    Mimi Coertse collection.
    Hubert van der Spuy collection.

        

      Scope and Content

      Artefacts
      Broadcasts
      Certificates
      Correspondence
      Lectures
      Monographs
      Music manuscripts
      Newspaper cuttings
      Notes
      Objets d’art (Paintings)
      Photographs
      Printed music
      Programmes
      Sound recordings (CDs; DVDs; Gramophone records; Reel tapes; Videos).

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        F.Z. van der Merwe catalogue.

        Research projects (current):
        General research on all collections.
        Prospective digitizing project: Mimi Coertse and Marita Napier transferred from reel tape to CD.

            

          Collections

          Bender, Anna
          Call number  ZA MUS BENDER
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 37 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Broadcasts; Correspondence; Lectures; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Coertse, Mimi
          Call number  ZA MUS COERTSE
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 60 pamphlet boxes; 9 m.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English; Afrikaans.
          Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Objets d’art (Paintings); Photographs; Programmes; Sound recordings.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Hofmeyr, Hendrik
          Call number  ZA MUS FZ HOFMEYR; FZ CD HOFMEYR
          Type Western art music.
          Extent ca. 250 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Complete works.

           

          Jolly, Margaret
          Call number  ZA MUS FZ JOLLY
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 34 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Printed music.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Lambrecht, Sarie
          Call number  ZA MUS LAMBRECHT
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 11 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Malan, Pierre
          Call number ZA MUS FZ MALAN
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 35 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Unsorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Printed music.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Napier, Marita
          Call number  ZA MUS NAPIER
          Type Western art music.
          Extent 72 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs; Reel tapes; Videos).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -

           

          Roux, Isak
          Call number  ZA MUS FZ ROUX
          Type Western art music.
          Extent ca. 70 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music; Sound recordings (CDs).
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes Complete works.

           

          Sound Recordings (University of Pretoria)
          Call number  ZA MUS FZ CD
          Type African music; Music education; Western art music.
          Extent ca. 200 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs; DVDs; Videos).
          Acquisition By donation.td>
          Notes -<-

           

          Van der Merwe, F.Z.
          Call number  ZA MUS FZ
          Type African music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
          Extent 301 pamphlet boxes.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Electronic catalogue: UP Explore and Sabinet. See http://explore.up.ac.za/screens/mainmenu.html.
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs.
          Acquisition By donation.
          Notes -
              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip