Skip to Main Content
  • Library AND Information Service

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Directory of South African Music Collections: University of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Contact

Mrs Gabriele Mohale (Acting Head & Archivist)
E-mail:  gabriele.mohale@wits.ac.za
Tel.:  +27 11 717 1940

Ms Elizabeth Marima (Archivist)
E-mail:  elizabeth.marima@wits.ac.za

Mr Azizo Da Fonseca (Digitisation Co-ordinator)
E-mail:  azizo.dafonseca@wits.ac.za

Mr Mphonyana Taulela (System Digital Archivist)
E-mail:  mphonyana.taulela@wits.ac.za

 

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Room 2
Ground Floor
William Cullen Library
East Campus
University of the Witwatersrand
Johannesburg
South Africa		   Historical Papers
William Cullen Library
University of the Witwatersrand
Private Bag X1
P.O. WITS
2050
South Africa

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 22

  1. Adler, Hans
  2. Anthony Traill Khoisan collection
  3. Arts Alive
  4. Bantu Men's Social Centre records
  5. Calata, Rev. James Arthur
  6. Diocese of Johannesburg (Anglican Church)
  7. D'Urban family scrapbooks
  8. Dzivhani, Stephen Mukhesi Maimela
  9. Harp Society of South Africa
  10. Idelson, Jeremiah
  11. Johannesburg Civic Theatre
  12. Johannesburg Musical Society
  13. Juvenile Musical Society, Johannesburg
  14. Matshikiza, John Anthony
  15. Musica Viva Society
  16. Neame Family papers
  17. Plaatje, Solomon
  18. Pollak, Melanie
  19. South African Institute of Race Relations
  20. Stein, Sylvester
  21. Voëlvry
  22. WITS Performing Arts Administration

 

Potential acquisitions:

General acquisition of collections.

Scope and Content

Address books
Brochures
Bulletins
Catalogues
Constitutions
Correspondence
Diaries
Financial documents
Invitation cards
Itineraries
Lectures
Maps
Membership lists
Memoranda
Minutes
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Newsletters
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Periodicals
Personal documents
Photographs
Printed music
Programmes
Reports
Scrapbooks
Seating plans
Sound recordings (Videos)
Statutes
Tickets

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

For digitised collections in general, see:

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Adler, Hans
Call number  A2096
Type Western art music.
Extent 246 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Anthony Traill Khoisan collection
Call number  A3092
Type Folk music.
Extent 49 Items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (78s; CDs; LPs; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Khoisan speech and music.

 

Arts Alive
Call number  AG2850
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes; 166 videos (Betacam; VHS).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings; Programmes; Sound recordings (Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Bantu Men's Social Centre records
Call number  A1058
Type African music; Folk music; Music education.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Memoranda; Minutes; Notes; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Official records of the Bantu Men's Social Centre. The Centre focused on recreational, educational and leisure time activities for black men working in Johannesburg and on the mines. Includes activities on music.

Collections C-D

Calata, Rev. James Arthur
Call number  A1729
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education.
Extent 1637 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid (AtoM).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content

Correspondence; Diaries; Maps; Memoranda; Minutes; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Diocese of Johannesburg
Call number  AB2013
Type Liturgical music; Music education.
Extent 1637 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid (AtoM).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content

Architectural plans; Certificates; Correspondence; Financial documents; Memoranda; Minutes; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Documents of the Anglican Church of Southern Africa (ACSA). Includes information on music festivals, choir festivals, organ recitals and music concerts (1989-2004).

 

D'Urban family scrapbooks
Call number  A29
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content

Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes music.

 

Dzivhani, Stephen
Call number  A1075
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education.
Extent 3046 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid (AtoM).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content

Brochures; Correspondence; Diaries; Financial documents; Lectures; Maps; Memoranda; Minutes; Music manuscripts; Notes; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections G-H

Harp Society of South Africa
Call number  A2397
Type Western art music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic inventory.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Minutes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections I-J

Idelson, Jeremiah
Call number  A879
Type Liturgical music; Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 4 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Bulletins; Catalogues; Constitutions; Correspondence; Financial documents; Minutes; Music Manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Printed music; Programmes; Reports; Statutes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes

Music societies (for example, the A.Z. Idelson Group, the International Society for Contemporary Music (ISCM), the South African Council for The Advancement of Music and the Society of South African Composers). Idelson was a pioneer of broadcasting in South Africa. The collection also reflects the Jewish community and the arts.

 

Johannesburg Civic Theatre
Call number  AG3290
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 55 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Financial documents; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Scripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes To promote interest in drama, opera, ballet, music, painting and other kinds of arts.

 

Johannesburg Musical Society
Call number  AG2572; A1112
Type Western art music.
Extent 13 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Financial documents; Minutes; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Pollak, Melanie.

 

Juvenile Musical Society, Johannesburg
Call number  A60
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Address books; Correspondence; Invitation cards; Minutes; Notes; Programmes; Tickets.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections M-N

Matshikiza, John Anthony
Call number  A3398
Type African music; Popular music.
Extent 64 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographic negatives; Photographs; Sound recordings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Musica Viva Society
Call number  A1458
Type Western art music.
Extent 26 pamphlet boxes; 370 files.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Broadcasts; Constitutions; Correspondence; Financial documents; Memoranda; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Programmes; Reports; Schedules; Seating plans.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Neame family papers
Call number  A3422
Type Western art music.
Extent 5 pamphlet boxes; 4 oversize folers; 1 oversize box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid (AtoM).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts (Medals); Certificates; Correspondence; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Personal documents; Photographs; Posters; Programmes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Sylvia Neame papers (A2729).

Collections O-P

Plaatje, Solomon
Call number  A1742
Type African music; Folk music; Popular Music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic inventory. See Guide to the Audio-Visual Collections at Historical Papers (AtoM).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Pollak, Melanie
Call number  A2567
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 pamphlet box.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic inventory. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Photographs; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Johannesburg Musical Society.

Collections S-T

South African Institute of Race Relations
Call number  AD1912 ; AD843B ; AD843RJ
Type African music; Music education; Popular Music.
Extent 42 items; 2 files; 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid (AtoM).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Constitutions; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Stein, Sylvester
Call number  A3376
Type African music; Popular Music.
Extent 8 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Collection of RUM Magazine editor, Sylvester Stein. Magazine includes topics on music.

Collections U-V

Voëlvry
Call number  AG3212
Type Popular Music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic finding aid. See Wits Collections database.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Newsletters; Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections W-Z

Wits Performing Arts Administration
Call number  AG3087
Type Western art music.
Extent ca. 360 pamphlet boxes (36 m).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic fining aid (AtoM).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Donated by Professor Walter Mony. Activities of the Wits Music and Drama departments in the 1980s and 1990s.

Staff Portal
© 2017, Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service, All rights reserved