Skip to Main Content
  • Library AND Information Service

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Directory of South African Music Collections: Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service: Special Collections

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service

Contact

Head: Special Collections

Ms Marieta Buys
Tel.:      +27 21 808 4930
E-mail:   hmbuys@sun.ac.za

Africana:

Ms Melani Ismael
E-mail:   melani@sun.ac.za
Tel.:      +27 21 808 4887

Manuscripts:

Ms Busiswa Mofu
E-mail:   bmofu@sun.ac.za
Tel.:      +27 21 808 4881

Ms Patricia Khati
E-mail:   patriciak@sun.ac.za
Tel.:      +27 21 808 4012

Rare books:

Ms Marieta Buys
Tel.:      +27 21 808 4012
E-mail:   hmbuys@sun.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Special Collections Division
Upper Level
Stellenbosch University Library
Stellenbosch University
South Africa		   Special Collections Division
Stellenbosch University Library
University of Stellenbosch
Private Bag X5036
Stellenbosch
7599
South Africa

 

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 17

  1. Bouws, Jan
  2. Cillié, G.G.
  3. Cillié, Hettie
  4. Cluver, A. de V.
  5. Goldblatt, Sarah
  6. Holm, D.
  7. Langenhoven, C.J.
  8. Leyds, W.J.
  9. McLachlan, Philip
  10. Nepgen, Rosa
  11. Ons Spreekuur
  12. Oosthuizen, P.J.
  13. Pienaar, E.C.
  14. Van der Bijl, J.
  15. Van der Merwe, D.F.
  16. Van wyk, Arnold
  17. Viljoen, C.

Potential acquisitions:

None.

Scope and Content

Annual reports
Architectural plans
Articles
Broadcasts
Contracts
Correspondence
Financial documents
Lectures
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Photographs
Printed music
Programmes
Reports
Reviews
Scrapbooks
Sound recordings (Sound cassettes)
Stamps

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
Arnold van Wyk metadata project by Music Library: DOMUS.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Bouws, Jan
Call number  227
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent 4 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections C-D

Cillié, G.G.
Call number  210
Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Western art music.
Extent 169 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Music manuscripts; Photographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Music in boxes 91-137. See also Cillié, Hettie (Stellenbosch University J.S.Gericke Library, Special Collections, 201).

 

Cillié, Hettie
Call number  201
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Scrapbooks (Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes See also Cillié, G.G. (Stellenbosch University J.S. Gericke Library, Special Collections, 210).

 

Cluver, A. de V.
Call number  11
Type Music education; Popular music.
Extent ca. 140 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections G-H

Goldblatt, Sarah
Call number  G 202
Type Folk music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 51 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Broadcasts; Correspondence; Diaries; Lectures; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Contains some music items. See also Langenhoven, C.J. (202), Stellenbosch University J.S. Gericke Library, Special Collections.

 

Holm, D.
Call number  162
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (copies).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections K-L

Langenhoven, C.J.
Call number  202
Type Anthems; Folk music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent 126 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Contracts; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Contains some music and Eisteddfod items. See also Goldblatt, S. (G202), Stellenbosch University J.S. Gericke Library, Special Collections.

 

Leyds, W.J.
Call number  130
Type Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 23 m (not in boxes).
Level of description Sorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Articles; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Relating to Boer War and Paul Kruger.

Collections M-N

McLachlan, Philip
Call number  218
Type Music education; Western art music.
Extent 18 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Reviews; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items regarding Stellenbosch University Choir.

 

Nepgen, Rosa
Call number  158
Type Folk music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 4 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access No list available.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals; Personal documents; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Addition to W.E.G. Louw Collection (158), Stellenbosch University J.S. Gericke Library, Special Collections.

Collections O-P

Ons Spreekuur
Call number  97
Type Folk music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 7 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Annual reports; Architectural plans; Correspondence; Financial documents; Lectures; Newspaper cuttings; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Oosthuizen, P.J.
Call number  219
Type African music; Anthems.
Extent 5 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Music manuscripts (copies); Newspaper cuttings; Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Nkosi Sikelel’ iAfrika.

 

Pienaar, E.C.
Call number  48
Type Liturgical music; Music education.
Extent 17 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Articles; Broadcasts; Correspondence; Lectures; Monographs; Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections U-V

Van der Bijl, J.
Call number  65
Type Music education; Popular music.
Extent 3 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Printed list.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Poems; Programmes; Stamps.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Van der Merwe, D.F.
Call number  245
Type Liturgical music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access No list available.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Reports.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Kweekskoolkoor.

 

Van Wyk, Arnold [temporarily at DOMUS for metadata project]
Call number  PSP AVW-
Type Western art music.
Extent Monographs and Printed music: ca. 21 m; Documents ca. 8 m.
Level of description Sorted (Preliminary).
Access Print and electronic list on request.
Catalogued (Printed Music and Monographs) on library catalogue.
Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Diaries; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Notes; Photographs; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Monographs and Printed Music in DOMUS.
Documents in JS Gericke Library, Stellenbosch.

 

Viljoen, C.
Call number  74
Type Folk music.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Finding aid (print and electronic).
Description Language(s) Afrikaans.
Scope and content Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Periodicals.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Staff Portal
© 2017, Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service, All rights reserved