Scope and Content
DOMUSGenadendal Mission MuseumJacob Gitlin LibraryNational Library of South Africa (NLSA)NG Kerk in Suid-Afrika: ArgiefStellenbosch University ArchivesStellenbosch University Library and Information ServiceUniondale High SchoolUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): African Studies LibraryUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): ManuscriptsUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): Rare BooksUniversity of Cape Town (UCT): South African College of Music
ILAMNELMUniversity of Fort Hare: NAHECSWalter Sisulu University
Federasie van Afrikaanse Kultuurvereniginge (FAK)Johannesburg Public LibraryNational Film, Video and Sound Archives (NFVSA)SABC Music LibrarySABC Radio ArchivesSouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Central LibrarySouth African National Defence Force (SANDF) Documentation ServicesSouth African National Museum of Military History (SANMMH)SAMROUniversity of JohannesburgUniversity of Pretoria LibraryUNISA Library ArchivesUniversity of the Witwatersrand (Wits): Historical Papers
Playhouse TheatreUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN): Eleanor Bonnar Music LibraryUniversity of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library
Kimberley Africana Library
Archive for Contemporary Affairs (ARCA) = Argief vir Eietydse Aangeleenthede (INEG)NALNPrivate Collection: ReddersburgUniversty of the Free State: Music DepartmentWar Museum of the Boer Republics
North West University Potchefstroom
This is the "Jacob Gitlin Library" page of the "Directory of South African Music Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Directory of South African Music Collections   Tags: music collections, music research  

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/SAMusicCollections Print Guide RSS Updates

Jacob Gitlin Library Print Page
  Search: 
 

Jacob Gitlin Library (Jewish studies)

Contact

Jacqui Rodgers (Head Librarian)
E-mail: jacqui@gitlinlibrary.co.za

Elaine Davidson (Library Administrator)
E-mail: 
elaine@gitlinlibrary.co.za

Tel: +27 21 462 5088

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Gardens Community Centre
88 Hatfield Street
Gardens
Cape Town
South Africa

Gardens Community Centre
88 Hatfield Street, Gardens
Cape Town
8001
South Africa

      

    Holdings

    Collections: 6

    1. Book collection
    2. CD collection
    3. DVD collection
    4. Music document collection
    5. Newspaper collection
    6. Periodical collection

    Potential acquisitions:

    Active collection of items to expand holdings.

        

      Scope and Content

      Monographs
      Music manuscripts
      Newspaper cuttings
      Notes
      Pamphlets
      Photographs
      Printed music
      Programmes
      Sound recordings (CDs; DVDs)

          

        Research Projects

        Research projects (complete):
        None.

        Research projects (current):
        None.

            

          Navigate A-Z

          A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

          Collections A-B

          Book Collection (Jacob Gitlin Library)
          Call number  780 -
          Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
          Extent ca. 144 items.
          Level of description Sorted.
          Access Catalogued in LibWin. See Jacob Gitlin Library website
          Description Language(s) English.
          Scope and content Monographs.
          Acquisition By donation and purchase.
          Notes Yiddish, Ladino and Israeli folk music. Includes cantorial sheet music.
              

            Collections C-D

            CD Collection (Jacob Gitlin Library)
            Call number  CD - [numbers chronologically ordered]
            Type Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
            Extent ca. 300 items.
            Level of description Sorted chronologically by accession.
            Access Catalogued in LibWin. See Jacob Gitlin Library website.
            Description Language(s) English.
            Scope and content Sound recordings (CDs).
            Acquisition By donation and purchase.
            Notes Jewish musicians. Includes Jewish folk music, Yiddish songs, Klezmer music and music of forbidden composers of the Holocaust.

             

            DVD Collection (Gitlin)
            Call number  DVD - [numbers chronologically ordered]
            Type Folk music; Popular music; Western art music.
            Extent ca. 79 items.
            Level of description Sorted.
            Access Catalogued in LibWin. See Jacob Gitlin Library website.
            Description Language(s) English.
            Scope and content Sound recordings (DVDs; Films).
            Acquisition By donation and purchase.
            Notes Jewish musicians. Includes Jewish folk music, Yiddish songs, Klezmer music and music of forbidden composers of the Holocaust.
                

              Collections M-N

              Music Document Collection (Jacob Gitlin Library)
              Call number  PMP 103-107; PMP 108 A-C; PMP 109 A-B
              Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
              Extent 8 pamphlet boxes.
              Level of description Sorted.
              Access Catalogued in LibWin. See Jacob Gitlin Library website.
              Description Language(s) English.
              Scope and content Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Pamphlets; Photographs; Printed music; Programmes.
              Acquisition By donation and purchase.
              Notes Documents pertaining to South African Jewish performances, composers and musicians. Includes songs in Hebrew, Yiddish and English. Contains general Jewish sheet music, Jewish festival music, Jewish liturgical music and dance music.

               

              Newspaper Collection (Jacob Gitlin Library)
              Call number  JE - ; SAJT -
              Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
              Extent ca. 680 items.
              Level of description Sorted.
              Access Catalogued in LibWin. See Jacob Gitlin Library website
              Description Language(s) English.
              Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
              Acquisition By donation and purchase.
              Notes South African Jewish Report.
                  

                Collections O-P

                Periodical Collection (Jacob Gitlin Library)
                Call number  JA - ; SAJC - ; SA - ; ZR - 
                Type Folk music; Liturgical music; Popular music; Western art music.
                Extent ca. 300 items.
                Level of description Sorted.
                Access Catalogued in LibWin (partly). See Jacob Gitlin Library website
                Description Language(s) English.
                Scope and content Periodicals.
                Acquisition By donation and purchase.
                Notes Jewish Affairs; South African Jewish Chronicle; South African Jewish Times; Zionist Record. Periodicals contain articles on Jewish music.
                    
                  Description

                  Loading  Loading...

                  Tip