Understand your assignmentFind Background InformationIdentify KeywordsRefine topicControlled Vocabularly
Search StrategyFind BooksLocate and access BooksFind ArticlesFind WebsitesFind other sources (grey literature and conference proceedings)Find full-text articlesFind different media, formats and social media
Evaluate SourcesPrimary vs. Secondary SourcesTypes of Periodicals
ParaphrasingNotetaking
PlagiarismTurnitinReferencingCopyrightReference management tools
Bibliographic elementsHarvard (Stellenbosch) examples A-ZAPAOther Referencing StylesUse responsibly: Why cite and reference?
This is the "Find different media, formats and social media" page of the "Find, access and use information effectively: a step-by-step guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find, access and use information effectively: a step-by-step guide  

Find, access and use information effectively: a step-by-step guide
Last Updated: Aug 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/StepbyStep Print Guide RSS Updates

Find different media, formats and social media Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Social media

According to World Wide Worx and Fuseware’s South African Social Media Landscape 2016 study:

facebook icon has 13 million users    has 4.6 million users     has 7.4 million users

www.worldwideworx.com

 

Using social media for research

Social media can provide instant news fast and can be a great wealth of information. How to identify credible information on social media can be challenging. Rumors and misinformation can spread quickly through social media.  Verifying information is important.  

  • Location of the source - are they in the place they are posting about?
  • Network - who is in their network and who follows them/
  • Content - can the information be corroborated from other sources?
  • Updates - do they usually post on this topic?
  • Age - what is the age of the account in question?
  • Reliability - is the source of information reliable?
 

Social media for research

 

Popular social media sites

Communication: Blogging: Blogger, Livejournal, TypePad, WordPress
Microblogging: Twitter, Yammer
Location: Blendr, Foursquare
Social networking: Academia.edu, Facebook, Google+, LinkedIn
Aggregators: Feedly, Netvibes, Pageflakes, iGoogle
 Collaboration: Conferencing: Adobe Connect, GoToMeeting, Skype
Wikis: PBworks, Wetpaint, Wikia
Social bookmarking: Delicious, Diigo, BibSonomy
Social bibliography: CiteULike, Mendeley, Zotero
Social news: Digg, Reddit, Newsvine, Zite
Social documents: Google Docs, Dropbox, Zoho
Project management: Basecamp, Huddle
 Multimedia:  Art and Design: DeviantART, Tumblr
Photographs: Flickr, Instagram, Picasa, Pinterest
Video: Viddler, Vimeo, YouTube
Livestreaming: Justin.tv, Livestream, UStream
Presentation sharing: Prezi, LucidChart, Scribd, Slideshare, Sliderocket
Virtual worlds: OpenSim, Second Life
 

Different media and formats

SUNSearch is our library's search engin which is organised to search all the items the library owns. You use SUNSearch to find what items the library owns on your topic. 

Reference works provide brief information.  You can use reference material to find facts, figures, addresses, statistics, definitions and dates. Examples: dictionaries, biographies, directories, encyclopaedias and atlases.  

Books & E-books will be one of the main sources you will use for your research.  Books provide in depth coverage of a subject.

Academic journals is a collection of articles usually written by scholars, researchers or academics in an academic or professional field.  Academic journals focus on a specific area or discipline and are published weekly, monthly, or yearly.  Articles published in these journals are supported by references and other scholarly material.  Academic journals can be used to find what has been studied on your topic as well as find bibliographies that will point you to relevant research.

Databases contains full-text academic articles, books, book chapters, magazines and more. Use databases when you want to find research on your topic.

Theses and dissertations are original research presented by degree program candidates.  They are best suited for use in academic projects requiring a thorough review of literature on a topic.  Dissertations, Doctoral theses and Master’s theses are often available in full text in open repositories.

Magazines contain articles written by journalists and are geared towards a general audience.  Use magazines to find up-to-date information about current events. 

News and newspapers are usually published daily about current events.  South African newspaper clippings are available in SA Media.  You can use newspapers to find current information about local, national and international events.

Subject guides are developed by librarians who specialize in different subject areas. Subject guides provide links to online journals and library databases, and recommend books and other resources for doing research in specific academic disciplines.

Librarians are a great source of information.  They can help you find the sources for your research topic.

Unpublished works such as personal or corporate collections of essays, reports, letters, photographs, sound and video recordings can be very useful in projects on historical topics.  They are usually housed in archival facilities but some can be previewed on the Web.  SUNDigital collections showcase digital content from the library's unique digital collections and repositories. 

Internet sites contain a vast array of information and are freely available on the Internet via a browser.  The Internet contains information in plain text, pdf, sounds, images and video.  Examples: government websites, conference papers, company information.  Google Scholar searches specifically for scholarly materials such as journal articles, research reports, dissertations and theses, preprints, technical reports, patents, manuscripts in preparation, working papers and many other document types.

Social Media can provide instant news faster than traditional news outlets or sources, but there is an ever increasing need to verify the accuracy of this information.  Examples: Twitter, Blogs, Facebook, Discussion lists, Chat rooms.

Main Source: Virginia Tech University Libraries. Types of information sources

 

Pic

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip