This is the "Databases & Finding Articles" page of the "Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medicine  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/medicine Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases & Finding Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases A-Z list

Alphabetical list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to.

How do I find and use information effectively: Finding journal articles

Useful library links

Open Access repositories /Free Medical Databases and journals

  • BestBETS
    Provides rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions in emergency medicine, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. Developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK.
  • Blitter
    Blitter is an experimental search engine which offers a new insight into searching for clinical information in the context of social media. This innovative approach to clinical search within a social context has been designed and implemented by Jon Brassey and the TRIP database team
  • Cases Database
    The value added solution.
  • The Cochrane Library
    The South Africa Medical Research Council (SAMRC) and Wiley announced in June 2017 that a National Provision for the Cochrane Library for South Africa has been agreed to. The deal came into effect on 01 June 2017 and allow all South Africans access to this invaluable, evidence-based resource. The first year of the agreement runs from June 2017 to May 2018 and will be renewed for a further two years, conditional upon Governmental funds being available. Going forward, the cost of Years Two and Three will be born wholly by the SAMRC. This opportunity assist healthcare providers nationwide get free access to much needed information.
  • DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
    This directory offers a searchable database of nearly 10,000 OA journals or 1.7 million journal articles at
  • DOAR: The Directory of Open Access Repositories
    Allows users to search for any of thousands of OA repositories worldwide.
  • EuropePubmedCental
    Free access to biomedical literature resources. How does Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC) differ from PubMed and PubMed Central?Europe PMC was developed in collaboration with the founders of PubMed and PubMed Central , the National Center for Biotechnology Information which is based in the United States. The principles of these services are similar - to provide free access to published peer-reviewed biomedical and health research abstracts and full-text articles (PubMed and PubMed Central respectively) - but there are some distinct differences too.
    Unlike PubMed Central, Europe PMC provides a single point of access to not only full-text articles but additionally the abstracts available through PubMed.
  • Free Medical Journals
  • HighWire Search
  • Open J-Gate
  • PLoS, the Public Library of Science
  • 25 Open Access Search Engines for the medical professional
  • Health / Medical directories list
    A list of Health / Medical directories. Health related products and services. Web directories specific to the Health and/or Medical niche. Free and paid business listings
  • Link Directory for Google Custom search engine - Health
  • Pubmed
  • Research output @ Stellenbosch
    SU SUNScholar repository

Tutorials & Worth to know

If required, Adobe Flash Player may be downloaded from here.

Google Scholar

 

Search for articles

Search SU libraries for Articles

Key databases for Medicine & Health Sciences


 

Clinical Key video

 

UpToDate userguide

 

Learn about Boolean logic

Search smarter, search faster video from the University of Sydney.

 

Videos incl tips to support your research

A video from UCT on using Web of Science for your research

 

Keeping up to date with research publications

A video from UCT on how to keep up to date with research publications by means of Alerts

 

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

 

What is an academic/peer reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

Faculty Librarians

Profile Image
Ingrid van der Westhuizen
Contact Info
Tel. +27 21 938-9368
Medicine and Health Sciences Library
Consulting hours:
08:00-12:00; 13:00-16:30 Mondays - Fridays
Please note:
To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction.

Faculty librarian

Profile Image
Alvina Matthee
Contact Info
Health Sciences Library, Stellenbosch University , P O Box 19091, Tygerberg 7505 South Africa
+27 21 938 9367
Send Email
Consulting hours:
8:30-13h00 ;13:30-16h30 Mondays to Fridays
Please note:
To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Pamela Nyokwana
Contact Info
Tel. +27 21 938-9115
Geneeskunde & Gesondheidswetenskappe Biblioteek/
Medicine & Health Sciences Library
Send Email
Please note:
To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction.

Faculty librarian

Profile Image
Kay Jacobs
Contact Info
Tel. +27 21 938 9450

Health Sciences Library
3rd Floor, Education Block
Faculty of Health Sciences
Francie van Zijl Avenue
Parow
Send Email
Consulting hours:
Consulting Hours 08:00-12:45 Mondays - Fridays
Please note:
To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Yusuf Ras
Contact Info
Medicine and Health Sciences Library
P O Box 19091
Tygerberg 7505
South Africa

Tel.: +27 (0) 21-938 9365
Fax: +27 (0) 21-808 3723
Send Email
Consulting hours:
Mon to Fri 08:00 – 12:45; 13:45 - 16:30
Please note:
To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction.
 

Faculty librarian services

Faculty librarians are specialist information professionals. They assist with literature searches, give research support and library training and develop the collection.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip