Library guides / Biblioteekgidse: Medicine and Health Sciences: Selected Websites

Evaluating information on the web

It’s important to ask questions of any website that you plan to use in your research. Remember, only you can decide if the website is trustworthy, credible and authoratative. Some questions which may be of help towards this, include:

Who is the author /publisher of the page? Can the author's or creator’s credentials be verified? Is the author’s information listed?
Is the information current? When was it last updated? Are the sources documented? Are you getting balanced information? Are there links to additional, reliable resources for the topic ?
Is the organisation’s site suitable/qualified to address the particular subject? Does the organisation’s site promote a specific agenda? Does this Web site belong to someone’s personal account in stead of an organisation?
If statistics are given, are the source of the statistics given?

Guide from the Medical Library Association
A User's Guide to Finding and Evaluating Health Information on the Web

Bibliometrics

Bibliometrics Series - From NIH Library
Research Assessment - Bibliometric assessment themes, tools, cleaning data, visualisation, and all to get you started

Accredited Journals

Accredited Journals & Conference Proceedings
Accredited journals by the Department of Education (DoE)
Also inlcudes a list of approved South African journals.

Author Instructions

Mulford Library: Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences
Provide links to Web sites with instructions to authors for over 6,000 journals in the health and life sciences.
Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals
- From the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors

Images

Free resources

Hardin MD - Medical and Disease Pictures
The University of Iowa's Hardin Medical Library Metadata Directory. Lists free medical images of diseases, conditions & medical diagrams. Copyright restrictions apply.
Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
Includes images, videoclips, presentations and audio files that support health care education. Free registration is needed to search the database. Copyright restrictions apply
Health on the Net Media Gallery
A repository of 6800+ medical images and videos produced by the HON Foundation. Copyright restrictions apply.
Netter Images
Image topics range from human anatomy to clinical disease states to new therapeutic technology; By world renowned medical illustrator, Frank H. Netter, and physician-artists, John Craig and Carlos Machado . Copyright restrictions apply.
MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia from the National Library of Medicine(US) which includes an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations searchable by topic. Copyright restrictions apply.
Pediatric images
When on page, scroll down a bit.
Public Health Image Library
Collection produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention consists of materials for teaching, presentation, and public health interest. Organised into categories by people, place, and science. Copyright restrictions apply.
The Visible Human Project
From the National Library of Medicine. Contains complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Copyright restrictions apply.

Organisations, Associations & Government - South Africa

Health Systems Trust
HST provides an electronic health information service by hosting electronic discussion forums and mailing lists locally and internationally.
HPCSA
HPCSA is the Health Professions Council of South Africa.
Medical Library Association |
Provides lifelong educational opportunities, supports a knowledgebase of health information research, and works with a global network of partner.s
SA Medical Research Council
The Medical Research Council of South Africa (MRC) aims to build a healthy nation through research.
South African Medical Association - SAMA
SAMA is a professional association for public and private sector medical practitioners and acts as a trade union for its public sector members and as a champion for doctors and patients.
The National Department of Health, South Africa
Health matters such as policies, guidelines, regulations, jobs.
UNICEF - South Africa
UNICEF South Africa work with others to overcome the obstacles that poverty, violence, disease and discrimination place in a child's path

Organisations, Associations & Government - International

World Health Organization - WHO
Global health information: Publication catalog, guidelines, media resources, health articles, and current health news.
UNICEF
UNICEF is the driving force that helps build a world where the rights of every child are realizedh.
U S Food and Drug Administration - FDA
Drugs@FDA: Guidances (Drugs) and News & Events - MedWatch.
Food Safety - Labeling & Nutrition - FSMA and Dietary Supplements.
Medical Device Databases Clearances and Device Advice.
Major Product Recalls - Industry Guidance & Recalls (Biologics)

Statistical & Data Sources (SA, World or International)

Raw SA Census Data
Available from StatsSA (http://beta2.statssa.gov.za/).
At the bottom of the page there is a menu called “tools”, and the option “Nesstar” takes you to a data repository where you can download data from several surveys, incl. the General Household Survey. There is a 10% sample of the 2011 census. StatsSA will make the full dataset for the census available at a cost of R300, but the file is enormous.
Statistics South Africa
Statistical releases from the South African Government.
Vacancies - Key Indicators - Population Statistics - CPI
World Health Statistics - WHO
WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States.
Compendium of Statistical & data reference
The right to share this statistical guide has been optained from Lynda Kellam. The guide was developed by her and Katharin Peter as a pre-conference on reference support for data and statistics at ACRL.
Finding Health-related statistics: World, Africa, South-Africa
A guide on resources for finding health-related statistics. Compiled by Health Sciences Librarian from UCT.
Open Data (statistics) for South Africa
Health, Education, Demographics, GPD, telecommunications:
Includes statistics on Western Cape Households, Cape Town, Johannesburg & other regions, such as Northern Cape.
South African National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (SANHANES-1
Citation: Shisana O, Labadarios D, Rehle T, Simbayi L, Zuma K, Dhansay A, Reddy P, Parker W, Hoosain E, Naidoo P, Hongoro C, Mchiza Z, Steyn NP, Dwane N, Makoae M, Maluleke T, Ramlagan S, Zungu N, Evans MG, Jacobs L, Faber M, & the SANHANES-1 Team (2014) South
African National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (SANHANES-1): 2014 Edition. Cape
Town: HSRC Press
World Bank e-Library
BASE
One of the world's most voluminous search engines, especially for academic open access web resources. Searches the deep web. Browse by Dewey Classification and document type.
Open Data - portal for Africa Find data by topics -The African Development Bank (AfDB) has completed the network of Open Data Platforms in all 54 African countries.
more...less...
The Open Data Platform is part of the AfDB’s “Africa Information Highway” initiative aimed at improving data collection, management, and dissemination in Africa. It will allow open access to the data needed for managing and monitoring development results in African countries, including tracking progress on the MDGs. The Open Data Platform is a direct response to a number of important global and regional initiatives to scale up the availability of quality data on Africa and so foster evidence-based decision-making, public accountability, and good governance.

Apps for researchers and clinicians

Apps for Researchers
Categorized using libguides - From MIT Libraries
Download Read by QxMD Institutional Edition for SU Staff and students Leverage our existing university affiliation and subscription to get one-touch access to thousands of premium PDF articles right on your iPad, iPhone, Android and web-enabled desktop.
MSD Manual PROFESSIONAL App - Download on the AppStore
MSD Manual PROFESSIONAL App - Get it on GooglePlay
MSD Manual CONSUMER App -Download on the AppStore
MSD CONSUMER App- Get it on GooglePlay

Links to free medical content on the web

SUNScholar: Medicine & Health Sciences
Research output from Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Stellenbosch University
African Journals OnLine (AJOL)
AJOL is the world's largest online collection of African-published, peer-reviewed scholarly journals
BioMed Central
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek (EZB) - Medicine
From the Universitätsbibliothek Regensburg
Pubmed Central
Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
The "Second Wave" and Beyond
YaleGlobal Online
JSTOR Open Community Collections
more...less...
“Go beyond the usual sources. Discover new avenues of research and gain deeper understanding of your topics with original materials including artworks, photographs, publications, recordings, and other artifacts.”

Open Access repositories /Free Medical Databases and journals

BestBETS Provides rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions in emergency medicine, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. Developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK.
Blitter Blitter is an experimental search engine which offers a new insight into searching for clinical information in the context of social media. This innovative approach to clinical search within a social context has been designed and implemented by Jon Brassey and the TRIP database team
Cases Database The value added solution.
The Cochrane Library The South Africa Medical Research Council (SAMRC) and Wiley announced in June 2017 that a National Provision for the Cochrane Library for South Africa has been agreed to. The deal came into effect on 01 June 2017 and allow all South Africans access to this invaluable, evidence-based resource. The first year of the agreement runs from June 2017 to May 2018 and will be renewed for a further two years, conditional upon Governmental funds being available. Going forward, the cost of Years Two and Three will be born wholly by the SAMRC. This opportunity assist healthcare providers nationwide get free access to much needed information.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This directory offers a searchable database of nearly 10,000 OA journals or 1.7 million journal articles at
DOAR: The Directory of Open Access Repositories Allows users to search for any of thousands of OA repositories worldwide.
EuropePubmedCental Free access to biomedical literature resources. How does Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC) differ from PubMed and PubMed Central?Europe PMC was developed in collaboration with the founders of PubMed and PubMed Central , the National Center for Biotechnology Information which is based in the United States. The principles of these services are similar - to provide free access to published peer-reviewed biomedical and health research abstracts and full-text articles (PubMed and PubMed Central respectively) - but there are some distinct differences too. Unlike PubMed Central, Europe PMC provides a single point of access to not only full-text articles but additionally the abstracts available through PubMed.
Free Medical Journals
Open J-Gate
PLoS, the Public Library of Science
Pubmed
Research output @ Stellenbosch SU SUNScholar repository
CORE - the largest aggregator of open access research papers from repositories and journals
JSTOR Open Community Collections
more...less...
“Go beyond the usual sources. Discover new avenues of research and gain deeper understanding of your topics with original materials including artworks, photographs, publications, recordings, and other artifacts.”

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Medicine and Health Sciences: Selected Websites