Last Updated: Sep 1, 2017
It’s important to ask questions of any website that you plan to use in your research. Remember, only you can decide if the website is trustworthy, credible and authoratative. Some questions which may be of help towards this, include:
- Who is the author /publisher of the page? Can the author's or creator’s credentials be verified? Is the author’s information listed?
- Is the information current? When was it last updated? Are the sources documented? Are you getting balanced information? Are there links to additional, reliable resources for the topic ?
- Is the organisation’s site suitable/qualified to address the particular subject? Does the organisation’s site promote a specific agenda? Does this Web site belong to someone’s personal account in stead of an organisation?
- If statistics are given, are the source of the statistics given?
- Hardin MD - Medical and Disease Pictures
The University of Iowa's Hardin Medical Library Metadata Directory. Lists free medical images of diseases, conditions & medical diagrams. Copyright restrictions apply.
- Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
Includes images, videoclips, presentations and audio files that support health care education. Free registration is needed to search the database. Copyright restrictions apply
- Health on the Net Media Gallery
A repository of 6800+ medical images and videos produced by the HON Foundation. Copyright restrictions apply.
- Historical Images
From the Research guides at the University of Ottawa.
Free peer-reviewed collection of health teaching materials. Copyright restrictions apply.
- Netter Images
Image topics range from human anatomy to clinical disease states to new therapeutic technology; By world renowned medical illustrator, Frank H. Netter, and physician-artists, John Craig and Carlos Machado . Copyright restrictions apply.
- MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia from the National Library of Medicine(US) which includes an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations searchable by topic. Copyright restrictions apply.
- Medical images (from UOttawa Library)
An image guide organised according to disciplines - includes Anatomy & Histology, Cardiology,Dermatology,Ear, Nose and Throat,Embryology,Endoscopy,Hematology, Historical Images,Neurology,Oncology,Ophthalmology,Pathology,Pediatrics,Radiology,Respiratory & Video.
- Pediatric images
When on page, scroll down a bit.
- Public Health Image Library
Collection produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention consists of materials for teaching, presentation, and public health interest. Organised into categories by people, place, and science. Copyright restrictions apply.
- The Visible Human Project
From the National Library of Medicine. Contains complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Copyright restrictions apply.
- Health Systems Trust
HST provides an electronic health information service by hosting electronic discussion forums and mailing lists locally and internationally.
HPCSA is the Health Professions Council of South Africa.
- Medical Associations directory
With over 1200 listings, this is one of the worlds largest and best sites to find the medical organisation you are looking for.
- Medical Library Association |
Provides lifelong educational opportunities, supports a knowledgebase of health information research, and works with a global network of partner.s
- SA Medical Research Council
The Medical Research Council of South Africa (MRC) aims to build a healthy nation through research.
- South African Medical Association - SAMA
SAMA is a professional association for public and private sector medical practitioners and acts as a trade union for its public sector members and as a champion for doctors and patients.
- The National Department of Health, South Africa
Health matters such as policies, guidelines, regulations, jobs.
- UNICEF - South Africa
UNICEF South Africa work with others to overcome the obstacles that poverty, violence, disease and discrimination place in a child's path
- World Health Organization - WHO
Global health information: Publication catalog, guidelines, media resources, health articles, and current health news.
UNICEF is the driving force that helps build a world where the rights of every child are realizedh.
- U S Food and Drug Administration - FDA
Drugs@FDA: Guidances (Drugs) and News & Events - MedWatch.
Food Safety - Labeling & Nutrition - FSMA and Dietary Supplements.
Medical Device Databases Clearances and Device Advice.
Major Product Recalls - Industry Guidance & Recalls (Biologics)
- Raw SA Census Data
Available from StatsSA (http://beta2.statssa.gov.za/).
At the bottom of the page there is a menu called “tools”, and the option “Nesstar” takes you to a data repository where you can download data from several surveys, incl. the General Household Survey. There is a 10% sample of the 2011 census. StatsSA will make the full dataset for the census available at a cost of R300, but the file is enormous.
- Statistics South Africa
Statistical releases from the South African Government.
Vacancies - Key Indicators - Population Statistics - CPI
- South African Data Archive
A national data archive from the NRF (National Research Foundation).
- World Health Statistics - WHO
WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States.
- The WHO Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
- Compendium of Statistical & data reference
The right to share this statistical guide has been optained from Lynda Kellam. The guide was developed by her and Katharin Peter as a pre-conference on reference support for data and statistics at ACRL.
- Finding Health-related statistics: World, Africa, South-Africa
A guide on resources for finding health-related statistics. Compiled by Health Sciences Librarian from UCT.
- Open Data Catalogues
This project is a comprehensive list of data catalogues from around the world, curated by a group of open-data experts, including representatives from local, regional and national governments, international organisations such as the World Bank, and numerous non-governmental organisations.
- Open Data (statistics) for South Africa
Health, Education, Demographics, GPD, telecommunications:
Includes statistics on Western Cape Households, Cape Town, Johannesburg & other regions, such as Northern Cape.
- South African National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (SANHANES-1
Citation: Shisana O, Labadarios D, Rehle T, Simbayi L, Zuma K, Dhansay A, Reddy P, Parker W, Hoosain E, Naidoo P, Hongoro C, Mchiza Z, Steyn NP, Dwane N, Makoae M, Maluleke T, Ramlagan S, Zungu N, Evans MG, Jacobs L, Faber M, & the SANHANES-1 Team (2014) South
African National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (SANHANES-1): 2014 Edition. Cape
Town: HSRC Press
- World Bank e-Library
One of the world's most voluminous search engines, especially for academic open access web resources. Searches the deep web. Browse by Dewey Classification and document type.
AN experimental service, allowing keyword and semantic search of over 10 million open access articles. Find an article you like. Core will find similar ones by analysing the text of the article you like.
Faculty librarians are specialist information professionals. They assist with literature searches, give research support and library training and develop the collection.