Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & Tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
This is the "References" page of the "The research process" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This Libguide provides a systematic guide to the different phases and activities of a master's or doctoral research project and introduces the researcher and research student to relevant Library sources, tools and services offered along the way.
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/researchprocess Print Guide RSS Updates

References Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference list vs Bibliography

References usually come at the end of a text (essay or research report) and should contain only those works cited within the text. So, use the term 'References' to cover works cited, and 'Additional Bibliography' to refer to works read as general background.

A Bibliography is any list of references at the end of a text, whether cited or not. It includes texts you made use of, not only texts you referred to in your paper, but your own additional background reading, and any other articles you think the reader might need as background reading.

Source:
http://www4.caes.hku.hk/acadgrammar/general/argue/citation/subtopics/sec7refsvsbibl.htm

 

Why do you need to reference?

We provide references to acknowledge the persons who are the intellectual owners of the information we are using. The intellectual owners could be the authors of books or articles, the designers of a product, the producers of a film, or even the webmasters of a website. We therefore provide references to:

  • acknowledge all information or facts that we did not conceptualise or think of ourselves;
  • help the reader to easily locate the sources we have used;
  • provide support or proof for the claims we make
  • show to the reader that we have read extensively on the subject
  • demonstrate that we can also participate in an academic discourse
  • give credibility to our writing; and
  • avoid plagiarism
 

When should you provide references and in-text citations?

You should provide references when you:

  • quote an author’s words directly
  • write someone else’s ideas in your own words (paraphrase)
  • summarise someone else’s ideas
  • use data, facts or other information from any source
  • use tables, figures, diagrams, photos or any other graphs that are not your own.
 

Related information

More information on reference management can be found on the Library website:

 

Reference management tools

Keeping track of your sources can be challenging. The Library primarily supports Mendeley, a program that allows you to create a personal database of references, to cite and generate a bibliography.  However, other reference managers such as Endnote and Zotero may also be used. Below are some of the more popular reference management tools:

Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organise your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Features include:

  • Automatically generate bibliographies
  • Collaborate with other researchers online
  • Import papers from other research software
  • Find relevant papers based on what you’re reading
  • Access your papers from anywhere online

    Zotero

Zotero collects all your research in a single, searchable interface. You can add PDFs, images, audio and video files, snapshots of web pages, Zotero automatically indexes the full-text content of your library, enabling you to find exactly what you're looking for with just a few keystrokes.

EndNote® can be used to search online bibliographic databases, organise references and related files, and create bibliographies. As an integrated writing solution it saves users time and interpreting style requirements for publications. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip