Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & Tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
Useful readingSupport & tools
This is the "Useful reading" page of the "The research process" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
This Libguide provides a systematic guide to the different phases and activities of a master's or doctoral research project and introduces the researcher and research student to relevant Library sources, tools and services offered along the way.
Last Updated: Jun 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/researchprocess Print Guide RSS Updates

Useful reading Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Data Collection - Patricia Pulliam Phillips; Cathy A. Stawarski
Call Number: Bellville Park Campus Library (BPK 001.433 PHI )
ISBN: 0787987182
Publication Date: 2008-02-08
The book explores collecting the quality and quantity of data needed, from the most credible sources, and using the most efficient methods. It shows how a variety of data collection methods can be used to collect both qualitative and quantitative data. While the focus is on using questionnaires, the book also explores interviews, focus groups, observations, and monitoring organizational records.

Cover Art
How to Research - Lorraine Blaxter; Christina Hughes; Malcolm Tight; Cathy Guisewite
Call Number: Bellville Park Campus Library (BPK 001.42 BLA ) and other locations
ISBN: 0335209033
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
The book provides examples from a variety of subject areas as well as extensive annotated bibliographies for further reading and tips for al the stages of the research process.

Cover Art
Data Collection - Wendy Olsen
Call Number: JS Gericke Library Research Commons (RCOM 300.72 OLS )
ISBN: 9781847872555
Publication Date: 2011-12-06

Cover Art
Questionnaire Design - Ian Brace
Call Number: Bellville Park Campus Library (BPK 658.83 BRA ) and other locations
ISBN: 074944181X
Publication Date: 2004-08-01

Cover Art
Questionnaire Design - Ian Brace
Call Number: Bellville Park Campus Library
ISBN: 0749467797
Publication Date: 2013-06-03

Cover Art
Data Collection and Analysis - Roger Sapsford (Editor); Victor Jupp (Editor)
Call Number: JS Gericke Library Research Commons 001.4 DAT
ISBN: 076195046x
Publication Date: 1996-12-23

 

Electronic Reference Works

 

Book Chapters

Data Collection: techniques and tools. 2001. In Sayre, S. (Ed.). Qualitative Methods for Marketplace Research. SAGE Publications, Inc. doi: 10.4135/9781412985543.

Selecting the Method of Data Collection. 2005. In Czaja, R. &  Blair, J. (Eds.). Designing Surveys. Pine Forge Press. doi: 10.4135/9781412983877.n3

Methods of Data Collection. 1999. In Clarke, A. & Dawson, R. (Eds.). Evaluation Research. SAGE Publications Ltd. doi: 10.4135/9781849209113.n3

Journal Articles

  • Online data collection in academic research: advantages and limitations
    British Journal of Educational Technology
    Volume 38, Issue 4, pages 574–582, July 2007

    Online data collection in academic research might be replacing paper-and-pencil surveys or questionnaires in the near future. This paper discusses the advantages and limitations of online data collection.
  • Online Data Collection
    Journal of Science Education and Technology
    Volume 11, Issue 2 , pp 173-178

    Online data collection is becoming an essential and efficient tool for evaluators, researchers, and other educators. This paper touches on elements of the rather short, but eventful history of online data collection. A brief review of the current literature is presented, followed by a list of pros and cons to be considered when stepping into online surveying. Finally there is a brief look at what makes the online survey run—a database connected to the Internet.
  • Can We Re-Use Qualitative Data via Secondary Analysis? Notes on Some Terminological and Substantive Issues
    Sociological Research Online, 15(1).
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip