This is the "E-books at SU" page of the "E-books" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-books  

A guide on finding and using e-books in Stellenbosch University Library.
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

E-books at SU Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Before you start

Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service purchases e-books from various publishers, but some publishers sell their e-books to individuals only and do not allow libraries to purchase their books in an electronic format.

Some of the e-books and e-book websites only allow access to a limited number of Stellenbosch University members at the same time. You will get a message that the book is not available and you will have to try again later.

On most, but not all, e-book interfaces, clients can create a free, individaul account which will allow the reader to:

  • save books to a personal bookshelf from where it can be accessed again at a later stage
  • highlight sections and insert notes
  • print individual pages

 

 

Different ways to find e-books in the Stellenbosch Library

  • Search as normal for books in SUNSearchOn the results page limit your search to Books in the column on the left and then to Full Text OnlineClick Online access to be taken directly to the electronic book.

  • Alternatively you can access e-book collections through E-books under FIND on the Library website and search specifically within a collection. Some of these collections are:
  • There are also many e-books available through databases such as EBSCO, Proquest, Emerald, ScienceDirect, SpringerLink and Wiley Online Library.
  • Visit the subject guide for a specific subject to find e-books recommended by your subject librarian.
 

E-reference

The Library’s e-book collection includes a number of important reference works, dictionaries and reference collections, such as:

Find a complete list under FIND >> E-reference on the Library website.

 

Off-campus access to e-books

When you are not on campus, you will be asked to log in to get access to any of the Library's e-resources. Use your SU username and password to log in.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip