This is the "Home" page of the "RV272 Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RV272 Library Guide  

Last Updated: Jul 24, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/content.php?pid=711231 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

SCOPUS search example

 

Don't find your full full text article?

Google Scholar  Activate access to Stellenbosch University full text electronic journals from Google Scholar SettingsLibrary Links

Find full text articles not available from a database (A-Z list of e-journals)

 

Step-by-Step

How do I do my assignment? To find, access and use information effectively, use the Step-by-Step Guide


Stellenbosch HARVARD referencing examples

Contact the Science Librarian, Marié Theron for assistance

 

Find peer review articles

  • Building blocks of a search:

    • AND:  both terms that you connect with AND must be somehwere in the bibliographic record for that record to be retrieved.  AND narrows a search and retrieves fewer articles:
               antibiotics AND probiotics will find both terms in the record

    • OR:  only one of the search terms combined with OR is required for the bibliographic record to be retrieved.  OR broadens a search and retrieves more articles. Applies also for related or synonym terms: 
               polymerase chain reaction OR PCR
               corn OR maize search for either corn OR maize in the database

    • NOT:  excludes or ignore a particular subset, category, or term.  NOT requires the presence of one search term and the exclusion of another.
                moths NOT butterflies

    • Phrase Searching: Adding quotation marks around a phrase, such as "bushy top syndrome" will tell the database to search for these words together, rather than separately:
               "microbial ecology" versus microbial and ecology

    • Truncating is a good strategy to use for some terms:
                microb*  will give the following results: microbe, microbial, microbiome, microbiology, microbolometer,etc.

ScienceDirect is a multidisciplinary database that includes a large range of journals relevant to all BSc subjects. ScienceDirect also includes several eletronic books.

Change your search field from the drop-down menu to Abstract/Title/Keywords
Tip:
 if you find too many references change the search field to TITLE or either ABSTRACT to refine articles more relevant to your topic.


Refine your search to Subscribed publications and Open Access article (to retrieve only full text articles or other items) 
Keep the default on ALL SCIENCES
You can also refine by YEARS

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip