Library guides / Biblioteekgidse: Theology: Databases & Finding Articles

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

Key databases for Theology (Access Only for Staff and Students at Stellenbosch University)

SABINET African Journals Archive The African Journal Archive is a retrospective open access journal service that preserves and makes available African journal literature dating as far back as 1906, originating from a wide base of publishers and societies on the African continent. The Carnegie Corporation of New York initiated and sponsored the Sabinet Gateway project. Sabinet is pleased to make it available as a collection via the Sabinet African Journals' platform.
SABINET Reference Only available for Stellenbosch University students and staff
African Newspapers: Historical Newspapers from Africa Explore African History and Culture during the 19th and 20th Centuries
African Newspaper series 2 Historical Newspapers from Africa Explore African History and Culture during the 19th and 20th Centuries
EBSCOhost Research databases Only accessible for Stellenbosch University students and staff
ATLA Only accessible to Stellenbosch University students and staff
New Testament Abstracts Only accessible to Stellenbosch University students and staff
Old Testament Abstracts Only available to Stellenbosch University students and staff
JSTOR Only avaialble for Stellenbosh University students and staff
GALE Reference Complete Gale Reference Complete enables students and researchers to access millions of pages of primary sources, reference, and periodical content on Gale's powerful and intuitive platforms. The resources within Gale Reference Complete address the needs of users at all academic levels, from the first-year student to the experienced researcher, and cover every research area and discipline including history, literature, business science, and medicine.
Sage Research Methods Online Only available to Stellenbosch University students and staff
APA PsycInfo
APA's Comprehensive abstract and Indexing database spanning the behavioral and social sciences.
PsycARTICLES - American Psychological Association (APA)
PsycARTICLES, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
PsycTESTS - American Psychological Association (APA)
PsycTESTS®, produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for the full text (when available) of psychological tests and measures
PressReader PressReader delivers an endless stream of top news stories right to your pocket.
PressReader YouTube training video PressReader delivers an endless stream of top news stories right to your pocket.

Key databases for Theology Free Access and Download

Use the databases to search for FREE Access journal articles.

Open Access resources ( Free Access to Available Databases)
Academia.edu FREE Access Academia is a platform for sharing academic research. Academics have uploaded 28 million papers, and 85 million academics, professionals, and students read papers on Academia every month.
African Journals Online (AJOL) FREE Access Researchers and policy-makers need access to contextually-relevant quality research publications from Africa in order to develop solutions to address the continent’s challenges in health, education, climate change & under-development.
BRILL online books and journals FREE Access Brill’s publications focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences, International Law and selected areas in the Sciences. Brill publications also include the imprints Brill | Nijhoff, Brill | Rodopi, Brill | Hes & De Graaf and Hotei Publishing. Brill has developed distinctive platforms for its online resources.
Digital Commons network FREE Access The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
Directory of Open Acces Journals (DOAJ) FREE Access DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Global Digital resources Library on Theology and Ecumenism for free FREE Access
Index theologicus:International Bibliography of Theology and Religious Studies FREE Access Index of theological articles and essays in selected works from 1979 to the present and hosted by the University of Tübingen.IxTheo contains citations from 600+ journals in addition to Festschriften and congress publications. Substantial overlap with ATLA Religion Database but does include European content not covered by ATLA Religion Database.
NTSLibrary Online Christian Library of Virtual Theological Resources FREE Access The NTSLibrary-A Christian Online Referral Services Library-A Leading Worldwide Christian Internet Community Learning Resource
Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) FREE Access The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. The OADTL uses the world’s most advanced integrated library system (ILS) for cataloging and discovery. This system, OCLC’s WorldShare, makes content easily discoverable and retrievable. The OADTL is staffed by professional librarians and curates content without regard for theological or confessional perspectives. It is hoped that the increased access to high-quality religious studies content will serve scholars and students of religion.
Open Research Library FREE Access Open Research Library to bring together Open Access content in one platform
OAPEN - (Choose Religion as subject) FREE Access OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books and provides services for publishers, libraries, and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance, and digital preservation. OAPEN operates three platforms: the OAPEN Library, the OAPEN Open Access Books Toolkit, and - in partnership with OpenEdition - the Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB).
ResearchGate-Find and share research FREE Access We started ResearchGate in 2008 to address the problems we saw in the way science is created and shared. Our mission is to connect the world of science and make research open to all. The 20 million researchers in our community come from diverse sectors in over 190 countries, and use ResearchGate to connect, collaborate, and share their work.
Sabinet Open Access journals FREE Access
SciELO - Scientific Electronic Library Online (SA) FREE Access The Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO) SA is South Africa’s premier open-access (free to access and free to publish) searchable full-text journal database in service of the South African research community. The database covers a selected collection of peer-reviewed South African scholarly journals and forms an integral part of the SciELO Brazil project. SciELO SA is managed by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), funded by the South African Department of Science and Technology, and endorsed by the South African Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET).
Semantic Scholar FREE Access Staying up-to-date with scientific literature is an increasingly pressing challenge for scholars. Our mission is to accelerate scientific breakthroughs using AI. Our Research team studies information overload and develops AI tools to overcome it. And our Product and Engineering teams deliver these unique AI-driven features at scale to millions of scholars each month. Semantic Scholar is and always will be open and free for all to use. In addition to the search and discovery tools available at semanticscholar.org, we provide the Semantic Scholar API and Open Research Corpus as free services to the research community.
Theology on the web FREE Access To make high quality theological material available freely throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries. This is achieved by: Digitising and uploading in co-operation with authors and publishers, rare and out-of-print theology books and articles. Over 50,000 articles are now available for free download. Providing detailed bibliographies for Seminary level students and ministers. Providing a single cross-linked resource made up of seven websites.
United Nations Digital Library FREE Access “The Library creates content, data and metadata related to UN information, resources, publications, and documents. Products include: bibliographic metadata, Index to Proceedings, Index to Speeches, Voting Records, UNBIS Thesaurus, research guides and frequently asked questions. All these information can be found on this database”

Database A-Z List

List of Databases A-Z List

Search for Articles

How to search for Articles using Library Search (YouTube Video)

Libguide for Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods Online Hi! Anyone doing research at a university - whether they are doing a student research project or dissertation, or planning a large scale study - needs to use the right tools to plan their study, gather their data, and make sense of their findings. These tools are the 'research methods' of the social sciences.

Libguide on creating alerts in databases

Creating alerts in databases

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Theology: Databases & Finding Articles

Databases and finding Articles