Skip to Main Content
  • Library AND Information Service

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Directory of South African Music Collections: Amazwi South African Museum of Literature

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

Contact

Amazwi South African Museum of Literature
Tel.:  +27 46 622 7042
E-mail:  info@amazwi.museum

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
Amazwi South African Museum of Literature
25A Worcester Street
Makhanda (Grahamstown)
6139
South Africa		   Amazwi South African Museum of Literature
Private Bag 1019
Makhanda (Grahamstown)
6139
South Africa

 

Holdings

Collections: 20

  1. Articles
  2. Farmer, Anthony
  3. Fletcher, Jill
  4. First Physical Theatre Company
  5. FNB Vita Awards
  6. Gluckman, Leon
  7. Manim, Mannie
  8. Market Theatre
  9. Monographs
  10. Munn, Elsie Fraser
  11. Press clippings
  12. Rhodes University Drama Department
  13. Sibikwa Community Theatre
  14. Sound Recordings
  15. Theatre programmes
  16. Tucker, Percy
  17. Williams, Michael
  18. Willoughby, Guy
  19. Wilson, Diane
  20. Woolfson, Malcolm

Potential acquisitions:

Continual theatre archives donations which may contain material relating to South African music.

Scope and Content

Artefacts
Articles
Audiovisual items (CDs; DVDs; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes; Videos)
Broadcasts
Certificates
Correspondence
Financial documents
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Newspaper cuttings
Notes
Objets d’art (Cartoons; Sketches: Stage designs)
Periodicals
Photographs
Posters
Printed music
Programmes
Reviews
Scrapbooks
Scripts
Sound recordings (CDs; Gramophone records; Sound cassettes)

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
None.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
None.

Collections

Articles
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 253 items.
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Farmer, Anthony
Call number  2007.18 
Type African music; Popular music.
Extent Sound recordings: 10 m; Correspondence: 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Artefacts; Correspondence; Financial documents; Monographs; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Notes; Objets d’art (Sketches: Stage designs); Photographs; Printed music; Scripts; Sound recordings (Gramophone records; Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Includes items on Ipi Tombi and the musical, King Kong.

 

Fletcher, Jill
Call number  2005.35; 2005.75.2
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access

Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes; Reviews; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Plays and musicals by Jill Fletcher (Jill Perks).

 

First Physical Theatre Company
Call number  2009.26.9.3; 2011.94.4.11; 2012.101; 2019.254-2019.259
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts; Printed music.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Materials relating to Mmino Fest, the First Physical Theatre Company.

 

FNB Vita Awards
Call number  2005.74.11
Type -
Extent -.
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Programmes from the South African theatres for music, drama, cabaret and dance.

 

Gluckman, Leon
Call number  1995.2.2
Type African music; Popular music.
Extent ca. 234 items.
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings; Photographs; Programmes; Reviews; Scrapbooks; Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Items regarding the musical, King Kong.

 

Manim, Mannie
Call number  2010.38.2.20; 2010.38.2.24; 2010.38.2.34
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Material regarding 'Heita da!' (musical play about Hugh Masekela), Jonas Gwangwa and Mandla Langa.

 

Market Theatre
Call number  2003.92.1; 2004.30.4; 2007.10.10.98; 2007.10.10.148; 2007.32.9.143; 2010.128
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Sound recordings (CDs).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Correspondence and financial records regarding plays and musical shows produced by or performed at the Market Theatre. Includes material on the Mahube Musical Concert, The Sacrifice of Mmbatho (The Good Woman of Sharkville), Nikeziwe (by Mbongeni Ngema and Jumaima Julius) and the Hidden Years music archive (David Marks).

 

Monographs
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Popular music.
Extent ca. 60 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Munn, Elsie Fraser
Call number  2009.27.4
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Music and theatre programmes, including posters on the Ghana University male chorus and Ghanian signs and symbols.

 

Press Clippings
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Popular music.
Extent ca. 300 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings; Reviews.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Cuttings on South African drama and musicals.
Includes cuttings on Port Elizabeth Music and Drama Society.
General search with keyword “music”.

 

Rhodes University Drama Department
Call number  2006.48.12; 2006.48.154; 2008.51.3.2; 2008.51.8.6; 2010.28.4.2
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Material related to productions by the Rhodes University Drama Department.

 

Sibikwa Community Theatre
Call number  2017.202.35; 2017.202.36
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Kwela Bafana production and The Stadium production.

 

Sound Recordings
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Popular music.
Extent ca. 52 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) Afrikaans; English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Gramophone records).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Theatre programmes
Call number  2012.242.3; 2012.285.1; 2015.110
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Posters; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation (found in museum).
Notes Music programmes, programmes for musicals, opera and dance, and theatre programmes.

 

Tucker, Percy
Call number  2001.20.3
Type Popular music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 140 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Financial documents; Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Founder of Computicket ticket-selling agency.

 

Williams, Michael
Call number  2019.12; 2019.25; 2019.45; 2019.53; 2019.54-2019.57; 2019.62; 2019.83; 2019.92; 2019.98; 2019.101;
2019.112; 2019.114; 2019.116; 2019.117; 2019.138; 2019.139
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Audiovisual (DVDs; Sound cassettes; Videos); Photographs; Posters.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Material regarding 'Animals', 'District Six',  'Get love', 'Tiger Bay', Crocodiles, 'Who killed Jimmy Valentine?', 'Wonderfully Wicked' and 'The Orphans of Qumbu'.

 

Willoughby, Guy
Call number  2009.117.7.2
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Materials regarding work by Guy Willoughby and Percy Tucker.

 

Wilson, Diane
Call number  2012.18
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Certificates; Correspondence; Newspaper cuttings (Reviews); Photographs; Posters; Printed music; Programmes; Scrapbooks; Scripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Related to Diane Wilson's theatre career.

 

Woolfson, Malcolm
Call number  1999.113
Type -
Extent -
Level of description Catalogued.
Access Electronic: Catalogued on InMagic.
Accessible at Amazwi.
Accessible by subscription to NISC (Africa Wide: NiPAD).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Audiovisual (Videos; CDs; LPs); Broadcasts; Correspondence; Financial documents; Notes; Objets d’art (Cartoons); Programmes; Scrapbooks.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Related to the work of Malcolm Woolfson.

Staff Portal
© 2017, Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service, All rights reserved