This is the "Reference material, prescribed works & short loan material" page of the "Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medicine  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/medicine Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference material, prescribed works & short loan material Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference material, prescribed works & short loan material

What does this collection consist of  and where do I find it?

Electronic resources 

E-Reference for Health Sciences includes E-dictionaries, E-encyclopedias,  and specialised research resources for multidisciplinary research.

Medical encylopedias from Gale can be searched as a collection and includes the Encyclopedia of bioethics, Encyclopedia of drugs, alcohol & addictive behavior, Encyclopedia of public health. Encyclopedia of alternative medicine, Gale Encyclopedia of mental disorders Gale Encyclopedia of neurological disorders, Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer, Gale Encyclopedia of nursing & allied health, Nutrition and Well-being. 

Print collection 

Resources in print are available in the short loans and reference sections. Items in these sections may be identified by their coloured markers (see below at Lending). The collection consists of:

  • Reference works: encylopedias, dictionaries and others in print format.

  • Prescribed books: for students of the Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences.

Lending 

Reference material (green markers): not for loan and to be consulted in library only.

Prescribed books (yellow markers): for loan for 3 days.

Short loan material (pink markers): for loan overnight and over a weekend.

More E-Reference​ for medicine and health sciences and consult the Selected websites for medicine and health sciences.

      

    Faculty Librarians

    Kay Jacobs
    Alvina Matthee
    Ingrid van der Westhuizen
    Contact Info
    Tel. +27 21 938-9435
    Geneeskunde & Gesondheidswetenskappe Biblioteek/
    Medicine & Health Sciences Library
    Send Email
    Consulting hours:
    08:00-12:00; 13:00-16:30 Mondays - Fridays
    Please note:
    To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction.

    Faculty librarian

    Profile Image
    Alvina Matthee
    Contact Info
    Health Sciences Library, Stellenbosch University , P O Box 19091, Tygerberg 7505 South Africa
    +27 21 938 9367
    Send Email
    Consulting hours:
    8:30-13h00 ;13:30-16h30 Mondays to Fridays
    Please note:
    To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction.

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Pamela Nyokwana
    Contact Info
    Tel. +27 21 938-9115
    Geneeskunde & Gesondheidswetenskappe Biblioteek/
    Medicine & Health Sciences Library
    Send Email
    Please note:
    To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction.

    Faculty librarian

    Profile Image
    Kay Jacobs
    Contact Info
    Tel. +27 21 938 9450

    Health Sciences Library
    3rd Floor, Education Block
    Faculty of Health Sciences
    Francie van Zijl Avenue
    Parow
    Send Email
    Consulting hours:
    Consulting Hours 08:00-12:45 Mondays - Fridays
    Please note:
    To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Yusuf Ras
    Contact Info
    Medicine and Health Sciences Library
    P O Box 19091
    Tygerberg 7505
    South Africa

    Tel.: +27 (0) 21-938 9365
    Fax: +27 (0) 21-808 3723
    Send Email
    Consulting hours:
    Mon to Fri 08:00 – 12:45; 13:45 - 16:30
    Please note:
    To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction.
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip