Skip to Main Content
  • Library AND Information Service

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Directory of South African Music Collections: University of KwaZulu-Natal: Killie Campbell Library

Directory of music collections. Contains information about private collections and collections at South African institutions.

UKZN: Killie Campbell Library

Contact

Mr Senzo Mkhize
Tel.: +27 31 260 1710
E-mail: Mkhizese@ukzn.ac.za

Ms Nellie Somers
Tel.: +27 31 260 1713
E-mail: somers@ukzn.ac.za

Library Enquiries
Tel.: +27 31 260 1718
Email: campbellcollections@ukzn.ac.za

Physical Address:   Postal Address:
University of KwaZulu-Natal
Campbell Collections
220 Gladys Mazibuko Road
Durban
4001		   University of KwaZulu-Natal
Campbell Collections
220 Gladys Mazibuko Road
Durban
4001

 

 


View Larger Map

Holdings

Collections: 11

  1. Africana, General
  2. Campbell, Killie
  3. Dargie, David
  4. Dawes, H. Edmund
  5. Musical Instruments
  6. News Books
  7. O’Donnell, Rudolf
  8. Oral History Archives
  9. Princess Magogo Zulu Traditional Music
  10. Souvenir Programmes
  11. Videos

Potential acquisitions:

None.

Scope and Content

Broadcasts
Correspondence
Interviews
Monographs
Music manuscripts
Musical instruments
Music scores
Newspaper cuttings
Programmes
Sound recordings (Sound cassettes; Videos)

Projects

Research projects (complete):
None.

Research projects (current):
Oral history research project.

Digitisation projects (complete):
None.

Digitisation projects (current):
Digitisation of photograph collections. See DISA.

Navigate A-Z

A-B   C-D   E-F   G-H   I-J   K-L   M-N   O-P   Q-R   S-T   U-V   W-Z

Collections A-B

Africana General (UKZN)
Call number   -
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education; Popular music.
Extent ca. 340 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic. Library catalogue (iLink).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Monographs; Printed music; Sound recordings (DVDs; Sound cassettes; Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

Collections C-D

Campbell, Killie
Call number  MS CAM
Type African music; Western art music.
Extent ca. 3870 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Find according to topic. Electronic library catalogue (iLink). Sorted according to date.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Correspondence; Diaries; Music manuscripts; Newspaper cuttings; Personal documents.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Various topics. Folders contain some music. Search term: “Killie Campbell Papers”.

 

Dargie, David (UKZN)
Call number  MS DAR
Type African music.
Extent 3 folders.
Level of description Sorted
Access Card catalogue. Electronic library catalogue (iLink).
Description Language(s) English
Scope and content Notes; Photographs.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Search term: “David Dargie Papers”.

 

Dawes, H. Edmund
Call number  MS DAW
Type African music; Military music; Western art music.
Extent 3 folders.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Electronic library catalogue (iLink).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Broadcasts; Interviews; Notes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Historic accounts of Durban and KwaZulu-Natal. Search term: “H. Edmund Dawes”.

Collections M-N

Musical Instruments (UKZN)
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent ca. 30 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Accession register.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Musical instruments.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Located in Killie Campbell Museum.

 

News Books (UKZN)
Call number  -
Type African music; Folk music; Liturgical music; Music education.
Extent 2 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description ca. 11 books.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Newspaper cuttings.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Books contain some cuttings on music.

Collections O-P

O’Donnell, Rudolf
Call number  MS ODO
Type Western art music.
Extent 1 item.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Electronic library catalogue (iLink).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Music manuscripts.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Search term: “Rudolf O’Donnell”.

 

Oral History Archives (UKZN)
Call number  -
Type African music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue.
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes -

 

Princess Magogo Zulu Traditional Music
Call number  KCAV 323-324; KCAV 225
Type African music.
Extent 3 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Card catalogue. Inventory on Oral History Archives. Online catalogue.
Description Language(s) English; Zulu.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Sound cassettes); Notes (transcripts).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Campbell Collections' Oral History Programme: Date of interview, 6 January 1982.
KCAV 323-324: Oral history interview on Zulu history and Zulu traditional music.
KCAV 225: The Zulu songs of Princess Constance Magogo (audio cassette with six songs).

Collections S-T

Souvenir Programmes (UKZN)
Call number  -
Type African music; Popular music; Western art music.
Extent 31 pamphlet boxes.
Level of description Unsorted.
Access Uncatalogued.
Description Language(s) -
Scope and content Programmes.
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Theatre programmes. Some music programmes included.

Collections U-V

Videos (UKZN)
Call number  -
Type African music; Liturgical music; Military music; Music education; Western art music.
Extent ca. 38 items.
Level of description Sorted.
Access Electronic library catalogue (iLink).
Description Language(s) English.
Scope and content Sound recordings (Videos).
Acquisition By donation.
Notes Power search: keyword “music".

Staff Portal
© 2017, Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service, All rights reserved