Skip to Main Content

Library AND Information Service

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Medicine and Health Sciences: Books

Medicine and Health sciences

Recommend a new book title

Submit a book recommendation

Book arrangement on the shelves

Books are arranged on the shelves according to the National Library of Medicine system.

E-Books

Get started with Proquest E-Book Central

ProQuest E-Books guide
How to annotate your chapter and other tips to optimize your use of ProQuest E-Book Central

Find books not in our collection

Key E-Reference works

Search individual titles or search collections of reference works for medicine.

Google books

New Additions

The Routledge Handbook for Advancing Integration in Mixed Methods Research
E-Book, Publication date 2022

Lending privileges

All books may be renewed twice. Renew books online

Undergraduate students: 6 books for 2 weeks
Graduate students: 15 books for 4 weeks
Lecturers and other staff: 30 books for 3 months

Search E-books

Search SU libraries for e-Books

E-Books

E-Books
A guide on finding and using e-books in Stellenbosch University Library

E-Books for medicine & health sciences

Books & E-Book Collections

Browse & search individual or collections of e-books for medicine.

Directory of open access books
E-Books from SAGE
E-books from ScienceDirect
Free medical books
incl 18th ed of Merck manual of diagnosis & therapy
Freebooks4doctors
The Hesperian Foundation provides free PDF downloads to every chapter from the Hesperian Health Guides. Once you click on the "download PDF" button for a title, you will be asked to provide your contact information. If you do not wish to provide this information, simply click "no thanks" and you will be taken directly to your download. Includes titles such as Where there is no doctor? The Hesperian Foundation has made a commitment to keep the online content up-to-date, incorporating all corrections and revisions as they are made.
Karger Fast Facts Handbooks Offers clinicians and patients unlimited free access to a collection series of more than 100 resources spanning multiple topics across the field of medicine.
MSD Manuals - from Merck • 1000s of Topics • “How-To” Videos • Numerous Photos • Clinical Calculators • Quizzes • 3D Models • News and Editorials
Medicine IntechOpen Open Access textbooks for Medicine: covering 39 sub-disciplines
Merck manuals - Reviewed by Krystal Bullers Review on Content, Site Navigation, Consideration and Advantages of the MSD Manuals
PubmedBookshelf
South African Health Review

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Medicine and Health Sciences Library
PO Box 19091, Tygerberg, 7505

+27219389450

Subjects: Health and Rehabilitation Sciences: Speech, Language and Hearing Therapy, Medicine, Medicine and Health Sciences, Pathology

Faculty Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Stellenbosch University
Medicine and Health Sciences Library
Tygerberg
7505
South Africa

+27 21 9389366

Subjects: Anaesthesiology and Critical Care, Biomedical Sciences, Global Health: Health Systems and Public Health | Epidemiology and Biostatistics (CEBHC), Health and Rehabilitation Sciences: Physiotherapy, Medical Imaging and Clinical Oncology, Medicine and Health Sciences

Librarian: Medicine and Health Sciences Library

Pamela Nyokwana

Email Me

Contact:

Medicine & Health Sciences Library
PO Box 19091
Tygerberg 7505
Cape Town
South Africa

+27 21 938 9115

Subjects: Family and Emergency Medicine, Global Health: Institute for Life Course Health Research (ILCHR), Medicine and Health Sciences, Nursing and Midwifery

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Medicine and Health Sciences Library
Private Bag X5036
7599
South Africa

+27 21 938 9365

Subjects: Global Health: African Cancer Institute | Centre for Global Surgery | Ukwanda, Medicine and Health Sciences, Surgical Sciences

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Medicine and Health Sciences Library
Private Bag X5036
7599
South Africa

+27 21 938 9365

Subjects: Global Health: African Cancer Institute | Centre for Global Surgery | Ukwanda, Medicine and Health Sciences, Surgical Sciences