Library guides / Biblioteekgidse: Medicine and Health Sciences: Finding articles

Search Filters/ Search queries: Pre-generated

Google Scholar

Databases A-Z list

Alphabetical list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to.

Complete A-Z list

How do I find and use information effectively: Finding journal articles

Open Access repositories /Free Medical Databases and journals

BestBETS Provides rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions in emergency medicine, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. Developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK.
Blitter Blitter is an experimental search engine which offers a new insight into searching for clinical information in the context of social media. This innovative approach to clinical search within a social context has been designed and implemented by Jon Brassey and the TRIP database team
Cases Database The value added solution.
The Cochrane Library The South Africa Medical Research Council (SAMRC) and Wiley announced in June 2017 that a National Provision for the Cochrane Library for South Africa has been agreed to. The deal came into effect on 01 June 2017 and allow all South Africans access to this invaluable, evidence-based resource. The first year of the agreement runs from June 2017 to May 2018 and will be renewed for a further two years, conditional upon Governmental funds being available. Going forward, the cost of Years Two and Three will be born wholly by the SAMRC. This opportunity assist healthcare providers nationwide get free access to much needed information.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This directory offers a searchable database of nearly 10,000 OA journals or 1.7 million journal articles at
DOAR: The Directory of Open Access Repositories Allows users to search for any of thousands of OA repositories worldwide.
EuropePubmedCental Free access to biomedical literature resources. How does Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC) differ from PubMed and PubMed Central?Europe PMC was developed in collaboration with the founders of PubMed and PubMed Central , the National Center for Biotechnology Information which is based in the United States. The principles of these services are similar - to provide free access to published peer-reviewed biomedical and health research abstracts and full-text articles (PubMed and PubMed Central respectively) - but there are some distinct differences too. Unlike PubMed Central, Europe PMC provides a single point of access to not only full-text articles but additionally the abstracts available through PubMed.
Free Medical Journals
Open J-Gate
PLoS, the Public Library of Science
Pubmed
Research output @ Stellenbosch SU SUNScholar repository
CORE - the largest aggregator of open access research papers from repositories and journals
JSTOR Open Community Collections
more...less...
“Go beyond the usual sources. Discover new avenues of research and gain deeper understanding of your topics with original materials including artworks, photographs, publications, recordings, and other artifacts.”

Tutorials & Worth to know

Navigate Your Research Journey - Unlock your research potential
- From Elsevier
Clinical Key video (7:28 min) This video acts as an introduction to ClinicalKey, outlining its benefits, content offerings, and approaches based on use case. By watching this video, you will build a basic understanding of how to navigate the site and its value within their workflow.
Clinical Key: register for remote access In short: Go to www.clinicalkey.com/register If you have a Scopus or Science direct login and password, you can use that information to register for remote access for Clinical Key; Otherwise create an account for Clinical Key by selecting "Register now" at the registering site stated above. For more detailed step-by-step help, consult the guide.
Clinical Key: Stay current with CK (webinar): Needs passcode; Contact your MHSL faculty librarian for the code
Cochrane Library User guide
Cochrane Library Training Hub
ProQuest Platform libguide
Pubmed: Know about Pubmed mobile?

Sabinet Discover User Guide
Sabinet Mydiscover User guide My space on Sabinet where I can save searches and documents and share with other mydiscover users
Sabinet search tips

Sage Research Methods Overview
SciFinder-n Training and Support
UpToDate - Articles on using UpToDate
UpToDate demo, help manual & FAQs
Where to search for completed theses and dissertations Not all the links you'll find via this url are open access but may be worth your while to check it out.
Web of Science Recorded training sessions
Wiley Online Library tutorials
Web of Science (WOS) Tutorials and Training for authors / researcherss
Web of Science (WOS) - Get published, What is your impact? and other useful data mining for researchers / authors

ScienceDirect Libguide

Scopus Libguide

Search for articles

Search SU libraries for Articles

Key databases for Medicine & Health Sciences

AnatomyTv Powered by Primal Pictures
Clinical Key ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images
Cochrane Library
EBCOhost Research Databases
Pubmed
Science Direct
ScienceDirect (off-campus access)
Scopus
UpToDate
Web of Science
More databases for medicine and health sciences

Sabinet Reference

PsycARTICLES - American Psychological Association (APA)

Databases specifically for South African information

Sabinet African Journals Previously known as SAe-journals. includes African Journal Archive. https://journals-co-za.ez.sun.ac.za/about
more...less...
https://www-sabinet-co-za.ez.sun.ac.za/index.php/information-services/online-journals
Africa Wide
African Journals Online Assist publishers (170 publishers (9 African, 2 UK and the rest SA)) in the publishing value chain to be sustainable, relevant and providing a voice for African researchers worldwide.
more...less...
https://www-sabinet-co-za.ez.sun.ac.za/index.php/information-services/online-journals/african-journals
African Digital Repository The African Digital Repository consists of records harvested from the institutional repositories of a number of South African and African institutions. Links to the full text within the repositories are included.
African Education Research Database
Thesis and Dissertations
Sabinet Discover

Clinical Key video

UpToDate userguide

UpToDate Userguide Get clinical answers at the point of care with evidence-based clinical decision support. UpToDate is associated with improved outcomes.

Learn about Boolean logic

Search smarter, search faster, a video from the University of Sydney:

Search faster, search smarter A learning tool to help you identify and put your keywords together to find articles for your assignments - from the University of Sydney

A Boolean Searching Library guide from Athabasca University: Tips for searching with Boolean logic. and learn how to conduct phrase searching.

Keeping up to date with research publications

A video from UCT on how to keep up to date with research publications by means of Alerts

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.