Library guides / Biblioteekgidse: Military Science : Journals

What is an academic/peer-reviewed journal?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

e-Journals A-Z list

Alphabetical list of all the electronic journals that the SU Library Service subscribes to.

Complete SU A-Z list
South- and Southern African fulltext journals
The African Electronic Journals (SA ePublications) service is the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text electronic South- and Southern African journals in the world.

Accredited journals

Journals that are regarded as accredited journals by the Department of Education (DoE)

Lists of accredited journals

Examples of Military Science journals

Armed Forces and Society
Publishes articles on military institutions, civil-military relations, arms control and peacemaking, and conflict management. International Journal with focus on historical, comparative, and interdisciplinary discourse.
Studies in Conflict & Terrorism
Original articles, and theoretical and empirical studies on the causes of conflicts, their motivations and their forms, ethnic and religious conflicts, conflicts of the 1990s as they are now being waged in varying degrees of intensity in the world today.
Survival
Provides a forum for analysis & debate of international & strategic affairs.
Security Studies
Coverage of international security studies, including historical, theoretical and policy articles on the causes of war and peace
Defence Studies
Terrorism, Insurgency & Political Violence; War
Description: Aimed at military personnel around the world & at academics interested in all aspects of defence. Comprised of articles on historical & contemporary aspects of defense together with shorter viewpoints, opinion pieces, reports & a correspondence section.
Defense & Security Analysis
Provides a forum for interdisciplinary studies & for the exchange of ideas, data & methodology in defense theory & analysis.

Online newspapers

SA Media database for South African paperclippings
These databases provide full-text research material from the major South African news media – SAPA and SA Media. SA Media contains millions of news reports from 1978 to the present. The SAPA service includes full-text news reports from the entire media spectrum.

SA Soldier - South African Soldier (The official monthly magazine of the SA Dept of Defence)

SA Soldier

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

Military Science : Journals