RV272 Library Guide: Home

• Search Google Scholar
• Be cautious: Google Scholar also lists predatory journals
• How to connect your Google Scholar to Stellenbosch Library e-journals A-Z for easy off-campus full text access

PressReader provides online access to over 7200 newspapers and magazines.
Sign up with your sun.ac.za email on campus
Download the PressReader app for mobile device access

How do I do my assignment? To find, access and use information effectively, use the Step-by-Step Guide

Stellenbosch HARVARD referencing examples

Contact your Science Librarian for assistance.

• Recommended database: SCOPUS   
•        

Watch the SCOPUS video on SUNLearn RV272

Building blocks of a search:

• AND:  both terms that you connect with AND must be somehwere in the bibliographic record for that record to be retrieved.  AND narrows a search and retrieves fewer articles:
           antibiotics AND probiotics will find both terms in the record
   
• OR:  only one of the search terms combined with OR is required for the bibliographic record to be retrieved.  OR broadens a search and retrieves more articles. Applies also for related or synonym terms: 
           polymerase chain reaction OR PCR
           corn OR maize search for either corn OR maize in the database
   
• NOT:  excludes or ignore a particular subset, category, or term.  NOT requires the presence of one search term and the exclusion of another.
            moths NOT butterflies
   
• Phrase Searching: Adding quotation marks around a phrase, such as "bushy top syndrome" will tell the database to search for these words together, rather than separately:
           "microbial ecology" versus microbial and ecology
   
• Truncating (using the *) is a good strategy to use for some terms:
            microb*  will give the following results: microbe, microbial, microbiome, microbiology, microbolometer,etc.

Chemistry & Polymer Science reference sources

Contact your Science Librarian
Office 1070: reading area, library entrance

• Find books and other items in SUN Libraries
• Where do I find my book in the Library? Visit the interactive floorplan of the Library
• Electronic reference books
• Language dictionaries
• Renew your library books online

SU ENDNOTE subscription starts January 2024. Visit the SoftwareHUB to download.
The library will offer support and training on how to migrate from Mendeley or Zotero to EndNote.
For more information visit the EndNote Library Guide

• ​Use Mendeley to manage your references: write and cite and create a bibliography
• Access Mendeley Desktop in NARGA: open START, UTILITIES, Mendeley Desktop

Faculty Librarians SU (@facultylibrarianssu) | TikTok