This is the "Session 2" page of the "Research Methodology: Information literacy " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research Methodology: Information literacy  

A guide for students of the Faculty of Medicine & health Sciences (created for Research Methodology module)
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.sun.ac.za/human-nutrition-research Print Guide RSS Updates

Session 2 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Step-by-step guide

How do I do my assignment? To find, access and use information effectively, use the step-by-step guide.

The Library and Information Service offers a wide range of group training sessions with the main focus on enhancing the information literacy skills of all students at Stellenbosch University. A framework for Information Literacy was contemplated and accepted in 2014 to provide structure for an effective information literacy skills training program. The framework describes the development of different levels of information literacy competency.

Lighting Your Way From Research to Writing: 10 modules from University of North Carolina at Greensboro

A 10 module research tutorial created under by the University of North Carolina at Greensboro to assist in all stages of the research process.

Especially look at the one on Choosing a topic

  • After completing these tutorials you should be able to
  • determine an appropriate research question
  • choose keywords and find relevant information
  • identify and select the right type of information and sources
  • compose and revise effective search strategies
  • understand the difference between popular and scholarly journal articles
  • evaluate websites for appropriateness as information sources
  • recognize the importance of documenting sources
  • identify and recognize the importance of documenting sources

Source credit: PATH: Lighting Your Way From Research to Writing by UNCG Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License

      
     

    Learn about Boolean logic

    Search smarter, search faster video from the University of Sydney.

    How do I?

    Library Help

    • Library Help Wiki Page
      Links to on-campus & off-campus information resources, guides, e-resources beyond Stellenbosch and more.

    AskaLibrarian

     

    Databases, search strategies & finding of articles

    Search Strategies

    Starting out 

    Truncation & Boolean Logic

    Formulate your search strategy > Search builder

    Databases

    Internet vs databases

    Subject specific databases

    Africa-Wide: NiPAD - EBSCOhost  (incorporating South African Studies and African Studies)

    CINAHL- EBSCOhost

    Cochrane Library - Wiley
    Food Science Technology & Abstracts- EBSCOhost
    Pubmed 

    ScienceDirect (on-campus access)

    ScienceDirect(off-campus access)

    Scopus

    Background & demonstration : Boolean search / Advanced search / EBM search

    Limit,  Export & print options
    RSS
    Elements of journal article reference

    Full text vs bibliographic

    Find articles


    Nutrition & Dietetics E-Journals

    Important titles > J Human Nutrition;  South Afr J Clin Nutr 

    E-Journals >  electronic full text journals in our collection. Embargo, Open & download fulltext

    For older citations, check our Older journals in print list  (see RH column for  pdf list) to see if the hard copy title might be in our collection > If the journal title & year/volume  you are looking for, is on the list, you are welcome to visit the library and get it from the journal shelves. Journals from 2000> can circulate for 3 days.

    Google Scholar > differs from other general search engines > academic, authoritive, our holdings.

    Interlibrary loan service


    Plagiarism

    How do I use information responsibly?

    Plagiarism, eh? : How to recognize it and get it out of your life
    Source credit: William Badke
    Associate Librarian, Trinity Western University

    Turnitin resource

    Make sense of referencing: from Stellenbosch University Language centre

     

     

     

    How do I get to the full-text articles?

     

    Learn about scholarly journals

    Faculty Librarian

    Ingrid van der Westhuizen
    Contact Info
    Tel. +27 21 938-9435
    Send Email
    Consulting hours:
    08:00-12:00; 13:00-16:30 Mondays - Fridays

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Pamela Nyokwana
    Contact Info
    Tel. +27 21 938-9115
    Geneeskunde & Gesondheidswetenskappe Biblioteek/
    Medicine & Health Sciences Library
    Send Email
    Please note:
    To avoid disappointment, staff and registered students of the Stellenbosch University are encouraged to make appointments for assistance or library instruction.

    Google Scholar

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip