Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

COVID-19: Resources in different subject areas that are freely available during lockdown: COVID-19 research

This guide is a work in progress. More content will be added as information and resources become available.

What is a document collection?

Some publishers have created a specific site where all research that they have relating to the Novel Coronavirus can be accessed for free

Rapid Reviews: COVID-19

Rapid Reviews: COVID-19 is an open access, rapid-review overlay journal that will accelerate peer review of COVID-19-related research and deliver real-time, verified scientific information that policymakers and health leaders can use.

First clinical data on COVID-19 published in South Africa

undefined

This journal offers the first clinical data on COVID-19 published in (South) Africa. In this issue many aspects of this viral pandemic in South Africa, from the clinical to ethical and also the social dynamics of its impact are reviewed and information and direction is provided for health-care professionals in South Africa.

Cochrane

undefined

In response to the global COVID-19 pandemic, the Cochrane Library has curated several, free to access, ‘Special Collections’ on topics including, but not limited to, critical care, infection control, regional anaesthesia and optimizing health in the home workspace. These Special Collections also include links to relevant Cochrane Clinical Answers - readable, clinically-focused, actionable answers to inform point-of-care decision-making for health professionals.

Wiley collection

Wiley is making a collection of journal articles and book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community.

To help facilitate the safety of healthcare workers and their patients, they are making Chapter 4 of The Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures, dedicated to infection prevention and control, open access.

SpringerNature

Our central resource hub contains links to relevant research from our journals and books, as well as additional commentary on COVID19. Our editors are also selecting pertinent content to highlight. Overall more than 12,000 pieces of journal and book content are free to access, and will continue to be so for as long as needed. Nature and Scientific American have also released podcasts from global experts on the pandemic and its development, and Nature Briefing continues to provide the latest research updates.

 We continue to work with our authors, editors and researchers to encourage early sharing of research submitted to all our journals through preprints and continue to strongly urge authors submitting articles related to this emergency to share underlying datasets relating to the outbreak as rapidly and widely as possible.

We continue to work with global organisations to support the sharing of relevant research and data, including supporting the World Health Organisation and the initiative from the White House Office of Science and Technology to make all relevant global research, and data, immediately available in one place via PubMed Central. We are also a signatory on the consensus statement, Sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

AIP Publishing

To support global research during the COVID-19 pandemic, AIP Publishing has made this collection of articles on infectious diseases, epidemics, computational epidemiology, and pandemics free to read.

Protocols.io

The science community is working hard to address the potential health crisis brought about by the outbreak of a novel coronavirus (COVID-19). Sharing research methods is a critical part of accelerating COVID-19 research. To support these efforts, protocols.io has set up a method development community which you can access here: https://www.protocols.io/groups/coronavirus-method-development-community/publications?sort=views

WoltersKluwer

To support health professionals working around the clock to meet those most in need, WoltersKluwer are making various resources available - at no charge - for clinicians, nurses and medical researchers, in response to new developments, evidence and guidance: http://healthclarity.wolterskluwer.com/coronavirus-resources.html

Elsevier collection

The Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center provides Elsevier’s free health and medical research on the novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) and COVID-19.

The Elsevier COVID-19 Healthcare Hub provides free access to toolkits, expert insights, research resources and COVID-19 guidelines. The Hub’s toolkits include evidence-based clinical overviews, drug monographs, care plans, order sets, and procedure videos for clinicians delivering care and information to patients.

Elsevier Coronavirus Research Hub

Researchers and data scientists focused on Coronavirus and COVID-19 vaccines and drugs, as well as clinical research, can freely access a number of Elsevier solutions until 28 October 2020.

Elsevier Coronavirus Research Hub initially offers these solutions only for drug, vaccine, and clinical research, including data science. Researchers need to register using the online form on the site. The free license is granted to you as an individual researcher. 

Please access the Elsevier Coronavirus Research Hub for more information.

Oxford University Press

Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this potential health crisis: https://academic.oup.com/journals/pages/coronavirus

Karger

Topic Article Package: Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Karger Publishers supports research in this area by providing free access to relevant articles. To enable fast access to research articles, they have signed the consensus statement by Wellcome about Sharing research data and findings relevant to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak.

ProQuest Coronavirus Research Database

ProQuest announced the launch of a Coronavirus Research Database in response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). The new cross-disciplinary resource enables researchers to search and discover full-text articles, dissertations and other content from key publishers in one place.

The Coronavirus Research Database has been automatically enabled at no cost for all ProQuest platform customers.

CAS COVID-19 Bioindicator Explorer

undefined

The CAS COVID-19 Bioindicator Explorer supports COVID-19 research with novel, insightful connections between protein targets and candidate compounds with therapeutic potential. These connections were made using data extracted by CAS scientists from our comprehensive journal and patent collection. The resulting scientific literature network identifies correlations between drug-like substances with potential antiviral activity and COVID-19 protein targets.

Starting from a specific protein target, you can navigate through a collection of CAS-curated documents and the included substances with antiviral potential. Relationships between the substances, antiviral activity, and protein targets are classified as high, medium or low, indicating the strength of the associations.

Clarivate collection

Clarivate, who owns Web of Science, has created a portal which includes Web of Science coronavirus articles. You can access it here: https://clarivate.com/coronavirus-resources/

Cambridge University Press

The Press has made a collection of more than 80 relevant book chapters and journal articles freely available on Cambridge Core. The Press has also joined the Wellcome Trust and more than 30 leading publishers in committing to making all of our COVID-19 and coronavirus-related publications, and the available data supporting them, immediately accessible in PubMed Central (PMC) and other public repositories. 

Articles are drawn from journals including Epidemiology & Infection, Prehospital and Disaster Medicine, Infection Control & Hospital Epidemiology, and from Animal Health Research Reviews, among others. Future articles will be added to the collection once they have been published.

Learn more here and view the full collection here.

AccessMedicine

The AccessMedicine channel for the latest information on the COVID-19 global pandemic is a source of weekly updated developments and analysis in clinical medicine, public health, and industry and will be aimed at healthcare professionals, trainees, students, and librarians.  It will be open to all, regardless of Access subscription status.

ZB Med Research

The ZB MED COVID-19 Hub aims to support researchers and interested individuals by providing tools and data sets related to the Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) outbreak and the SARS-CoV-2 virus.

And more...

JSTOR: Access has been extended through December 31, 2020 for unlicensed journal and primary source collections, a set of public health journals, and 6,000+ articles related to the pandemic. We've also developed resources on teaching remotely with JSTOR, expanded free read-online access to 100 articles per month, and extended browser pairing through the end of the year.

THIEME: a special page with a collection of COVID-19 related content from Pharmaceutical Substances. All APIs of interest regarding a COVID-19 treatment can be found as downloadable pdfs free of charge here.

SSRN's Coronavirus and Infectious Disease Research page provides a curated view into the early-stage research to help researchers, public health authorities, clinicians and the public understand, contain and manage this disease.