Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Special Collections: Home

This guide provide information on Special Collections, consisting of Africana, Rare Books and Manuscripts and DOMUS, including usage and policies

Vernacular Architecture Virtual Exhibition

Book of the month

Welcome to Special Collections

​The Library and Information Service acquired a substantial collection of rare and valuable books, documents, manuscripts and other material over many years by way of bequests, donations and purchases. Special Collections is located on the upper level of the Stellenbosch University Library, the central library of the Library and Information Service.

This division of the library has as its primary mission the acquisition and preservation of rare materials, making it accessible to clients as well as preserving it for posterity. The division consists of three sections in the main library namely Manuscripts, Africana and Rare Books and DOMUS in the Music Library.  Each of these sections provides a specialised service and concentrates on specific areas of interest.

 

Opening hours

Hours Open for Clients

​Monday - Friday: 09:00-16:15
​​​​​​Saturday: Closed
​Special Collections is closed on all public holidays and between Christmas and New Year.

COVID Update:

For bookings : Book here

Please send your request for Special Collection material to: Marieta Buys

On arrival at Special Collections, clients must sanitize their hands. Gloves will be provided for handling material.

Staff

Marieta Buys

Head: Special Collections

Email: hmbuys@sun.ac.za

Telephone: 021 808 4930

Patricia Khati

Librarian: Manuscripts

Email: patriciak@sun.ac.za

Telephone: 021 808 4012

Busiswa Mofu

Librarian: Manuscripts

Email: bmofu@sun.ac.za

Telephone: 021 808 4881