Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Special Collections: Manuscripts

This guide provide information on Special Collections, consisting of Africana, Rare Books and Manuscripts and DOMUS, including usage and policies

Collection of the month

    

James Walton Collection

James Walton, educationist and doyen of vernacular architecture in South Africa, was born in Yorkshire in 1911 and died in Cape Town in 1999.

This Collection consist of 36 pamphlet boxes and 31 specially made boxes and contains Publications ; contributions to books ; encyclopedias, etc. ; African ethnology ; periodicals with contributions by JW and by other authors ; pamphlets and brochures by James Walton ; newsletters ; lectures ; portfolios ; albums ; photo's ; sketches ; plans ; newspaper clippings ; varia ; index ; African ethnology ; publications of the Vernacular Society ; conservation/preservation of buildings ; reports ; surveys and miscellaneous information ; maps ; charts and plans

You can view the digital collection on SUNDigital:  James Walton Collection

Finding Aids

What is a finding aid?

Finding aids are tools that help a user find information in a specific collection, or in manuscripts. Examples of finding aids include published and unpublished inventories, catalogues and indexes. Formal publications that help a user find information regarding a record group, collection, or series of archival materials are also finding aids.

Referencing

What is Referencing?

We reference to acknowledge the other person's intellectual property. Intellectual owners can be an author of a book or article, a designer of a poster or product, creators of films etc. 

About Manuscripts

About the section:

  • We preserve original manuscript collections reflecting South Africa’s past.
  • More than 400 collections of individuals and institutions.
  • The Manuscripts section, in collaboration with Library Senior Management, will consider donations of original manuscript material of individuals and institutions with research value.
  • With donations, a donor agreement between the Library and Information Service and the donor must be signed.
  • This section strives to build a collection relevant to current academic research and collects works within its focus areas, worthy of preserving for the future.
  • Manuscript collections are sorted, fully indexed and catalogued and finding aids for the collections (inventories and catalogues) are available in the section.

Contact:

Patricia Khati

Librarian: Manuscripts

Email: patriciak@sun.ac.za

Telephone: 021 808 4012

Busiswa Mofu

Librarian: Manuscripts

Email: bmofu@sun.ac.za

Telephone: 021 808 4881