Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Special Collections: Using Special Collections

This guide provide information on Special Collections, consisting of Africana, Rare Books and Manuscripts and DOMUS, including usage and policies

Using Special Collections

  • Special Collections is open to students, staff and other members of the Stellenbosch University community, as well as to members of the public, for research purposes and visits.
  • The division may not be utilised as a study space.
  • This is a closed collection and no material may be borrowed from Special Collections.
  • Clients request material from the staff member on duty who will collect it for them.
  • Valuable material may be consulted by clients under the supervision of the staff member on duty and clients may be requested to handle the material in a specific way, e.g. by wearing cotton gloves.
  • Reproduction of selected material is allowed depending on value, age and physical condition of the material. Please enquire from the staff member on duty whether reproduction is allowed.
  • The use of digital cameras in the division is allowed.

Booking system

For bookings during COVID-19 period:

Book here

Times: 09:00 - 16:15 Monday to Friday

 

Using Special Collections during the COVID-19 period

How to use Special Collections:

  • Not more than four visitors allowed in the Special Collections at the same time.
  • Book a space at Special Collections well in advance
  • Send information of what you are requesting to Marieta Buys beforehand
  • On arrival sanitise your hands
  • Polyethylene gloves are provided when making use of Special Collections material.
  • Do not take any material off the shelves, ask help from staff members