Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Open Access resources: Freely available e-journals

African Journals Online

African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals. AJOL is a non-profit organisation that (since 1998) works to increase global & continental online access, awareness, quality & use of African-published, peer-reviewed research.

BioMed Central: Part of SpringerNature

BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 16 500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities.

PLoS

PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Rigorously reported, peer reviewed and immediately available without restrictions, promoting the widest readership and impact possible. 

PLOS Biology
PLOS Climate
PLOS Computational Biology
PLOS Digital Health
PLOS Genetics
PLOS Global Public Health
PLOS Medicine
PLOS Neglected Tropical Diseases
PLOS ONE
PLOS Pathogens
PLOS Sustainability and Transformation
PLOS Water

Project Muse

Project MUSE offers open access (OA) books, journals, and digital humanities works from several distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, and independent not-for-profit academic publishers. Through their open access hosting programs, they are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These materials are freely available to libraries and users around the world.

SciELO

The Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO) SA  is South Africa’s premier open-access (free to access and free to publish) searchable full-text journal database in service of the South African research community. The database covers a selected collection of peer-reviewed South African scholarly journals and forms an integral part of the SciELO Brazil project. SciELO SA is managed by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), funded by the South African Department of Science and Technology and endorsed by the South African Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET).

Alphabetical list of 86 titles

SpringerOpen

Launched in June 2010, SpringerOpen includes Springer’s portfolio of 200+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science.