Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Open Access resources: Freely available e-books

Mason OER Metafinder

The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources in 22 different sources of open educational materials, such as MIT OpenCourseware, Open Textbook Library, Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) and others.

MOM iconMason OER Metafinder (MOM)
 
Advanced Search

Free Academic Books

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB.

Written by the industry's top authors, our textbooks are helping improve teaching and learning at more than 2,500 leading colleges and universities worldwide.

 

Open Access books on JSTOR
More than 6,500 Open Access ebooks from 90 publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.

 

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation.

 

OpenStax College offers students free textbooks that meet scope and sequence requirements for most courses. These are peer-reviewed texts written by professional content developers

 

undefined

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 714 textbooks, with more being added all the time.

Browse Springer's Open Access eBooks here

Taylor & Francis eBooks is a single destination platform with eBooks in science, technology, engineering, medical, humanities and social science.

Free AudioBooks

Google books

Google Book Search

Open Research Library

Open Research Library aims to be a central hosting platform for Open Access books that is easy to use and completely free. In addition to the 2700 books that have become open access via Knowledge Unlatched, more than 11 000 titles, from a variety of publishers and disciplines are hosted totaling more than 14 000 titles.

Pressbooks Directory

Pressbooks is a WordPress-based online platform for self-publishing books in multiple formats: e-books, webbooks, and print-ready PDFs.

Pressbooks Directory provides an index of 2245 books published across 95 Pressbooks networks.

OA Books Toolkit

The OAPEN Open Access Books Toolkit aims to help book authors to better understand open access book publishing and to increase trust in open access books. You will be able to find relevant articles on open access book publishing following the research lifecycle, by browsing frequently asked questions or by searching with keywords.

Free e-Books