Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Open Access Textbooks: Open Book platforms

Find free open textbooks for the use in research and teaching

How to find free textbooks online

16 Best Ways to Get Free Textbooks (find free textbooks online to help cut college costs)

Open Textbook Library

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 714 textbooks, with more being added all the time.

Directory of Open Access Books

The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB.

InTech

InTech is the world's largest science, technology, and medicine open access book publisher with a collection of nearly 3,000 open books,

Online library and publication platform

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation.

Open Research Library

Open Research Library aims to be a central hosting platform for Open Access books that is easy to use and completely free. In addition to the 2700 books that have become open access via Knowledge Unlatched, more than 11 000 titles, from a variety of publishers and disciplines are hosted totaling more than 14 000 titles.

Open Access eBooks

Open Access eBooks is an international publisher of eBooks. Open Access eBooks covers different disciplines of science, technology and medicine. Each eBook contains around 6 or 7 book chapters providing the latest information to the readers

WAC Clearing House Open Access Textbooks

OpenStax

Freely licensed textbooks available in to read online or download in multiple formats, including some classroom resources as well.

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg has a 60 000 free eBooks library

Springer Open Access Books

Springer Nature publishes open access (OA) books and chapters under its Springer, Palgrave Macmillan and Apress imprints. We helped to pioneer open access book publishing, first piloting open access publication for books in 2011. We publish open access books across a wide range of areas in science, technology, medicine (STM), and humanities and social sciences (HSS). Quoted directly from SpringerNature

Internet Archive

The Internet Archive consists of legitimate digitized older open access textbooks