It’s important to ask questions of any website that you plan to use in your research. Remember, only you can decide if the website is trustworthy, credible and authoratative. Some questions which may be of help towards this, include:
Who is the author /publisher of the page? Can the author's or creator’s credentials be verified? Is the author’s information listed?
Is the information current? When was it last updated? Are the sources documented? Are you getting balanced information? Are there links to additional, reliable resources for the topic ?
Is the organisation’s site suitable/qualified to address the particular subject? Does the organisation’s site promote a specific agenda? Does this Web site belong to someone’s personal account in stead of an organisation?
If statistics are given, are the source of the statistics given?
Image topics range from human anatomy to clinical disease states to new therapeutic technology; By world renowned medical illustrator, Frank H. Netter, and physician-artists, John Craig and Carlos Machado . Copyright restrictions apply.
Collection produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention consists of materials for teaching, presentation, and public health interest. Organised into categories by people, place, and science. Copyright restrictions apply.
Available from StatsSA (http://beta2.statssa.gov.za/).
At the bottom of the page there is a menu called “tools”, and the option “Nesstar” takes you to a data repository where you can download data from several surveys, incl. the General Household Survey. There is a 10% sample of the 2011 census. StatsSA will make the full dataset for the census available at a cost of R300, but the file is enormous.
The right to share this statistical guide has been optained from Lynda Kellam. The guide was developed by her and Katharin Peter as a pre-conference on reference support for data and statistics at ACRL.
Citation: Shisana O, Labadarios D, Rehle T, Simbayi L, Zuma K, Dhansay A, Reddy P, Parker W, Hoosain E, Naidoo P, Hongoro C, Mchiza Z, Steyn NP, Dwane N, Makoae M, Maluleke T, Ramlagan S, Zungu N, Evans MG, Jacobs L, Faber M, & the SANHANES-1 Team (2014) South African National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (SANHANES-1): 2014 Edition. Cape Town: HSRC Press
The Open Data Platform is part of the AfDB’s “Africa Information Highway” initiative aimed at improving data collection, management, and dissemination in Africa. It will allow open access to the data needed for managing and monitoring development results in African countries, including tracking progress on the MDGs. The Open Data Platform is a direct response to a number of important global and regional initiatives to scale up the availability of quality data on Africa and so foster evidence-based decision-making, public accountability, and good governance.
Open Access repositories /Free Medical Databases and journals
BestBETSProvides rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions in emergency medicine, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. Developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK.
BlitterBlitter is an experimental search engine which offers a new insight into searching for clinical information in the context of social media. This innovative approach to clinical search within a social context has been designed and implemented by Jon Brassey and the TRIP database team
The Cochrane LibraryThe South Africa Medical Research Council (SAMRC) and Wiley announced in June 2017 that a National Provision for the Cochrane Library for South Africa has been agreed to. The deal came into effect on 01 June 2017 and allow all South Africans access to this invaluable, evidence-based resource. The first year of the agreement runs from June 2017 to May 2018 and will be renewed for a further two years, conditional upon Governmental funds being available. Going forward, the cost of Years Two and Three will be born wholly by the SAMRC. This opportunity assist healthcare providers nationwide get free access to much needed information.
EuropePubmedCentalFree access to biomedical literature resources. How does Europe PubMed Central (Europe PMC) differ from PubMed and PubMed Central?Europe PMC was developed in collaboration with the founders of PubMed and PubMed Central , the National Center for Biotechnology Information which is based in the United States. The principles of these services are similar - to provide free access to published peer-reviewed biomedical and health research abstracts and full-text articles (PubMed and PubMed Central respectively) - but there are some distinct differences too.
Unlike PubMed Central, Europe PMC provides a single point of access to not only full-text articles but additionally the abstracts available through PubMed.
“Go beyond the usual sources. Discover new avenues of research and gain deeper understanding of your topics with original materials including artworks, photographs, publications, recordings, and other artifacts.”