Library guides / Biblioteekgidse: South African Church history in Global Perspective: Research and Academic Integrity

Academic Integrity and Referencing: What it is and Why it is important?

Policy for Responsible Research Conduct at Stellenbosch University Stellenbosch University (SU) is committed to applying the values of equity, articipation, transparency, service, tolerance and mutual respect, dedication, scholarship, responsibility and academic freedom in all its activities. This includes, by definition, all the research conducted at the University. The document serves as a broad policy framework, which must be interpreted in the context of the other relevant policy and procedural documents, referred to below. SU is of the view that good science assumes ethical accountability according to internationally acceptable norms and that the responsibility for this lies with every person conducting research under the auspices of SU.
Referencing Use responsibly: Why do I need to cite and reference? "We provide references to acknowledge the persons who are the intellectual owners of the information we are using. The intellectual owners could be the authors of books or articles, the designers of a product, the producers of a film, or even the webmasters of a website" (Van Dyk & Coetzee, 2010:4).
Stellenbosch University Plagiarism Policy Policy on Plagiarism (in support of Academic Integrity)
Postgraduate Skills Development SUNLearn Online Training and Courses:Avoiding Plagiarism Online Course - FREE This course aims to ensure that Stellenbosch University (SU) postgraduate students: are aware of the content in SU’s Policies on Plagiarism understand what plagiarism constitutes within the academic world know how to avoid plagiarizing by applying principles of good academic writing know how to use the software tool Turnitin in a meaningful way
Plagiarism "Plagiarism is the theft and use of the ideas, material and other intellectual property of others that are passed off as one’s own." SU Senate. 1 Dec 2016. Stellenbosch University policy on academic integrity: the prevention and handling of plagiarism [Internet]. Stellenbosch University. Available: Policy document. [2017, 1 February].
Copyright According to the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), copyright and related rights protect the rights of authors, performers, producers and broadcasters, and contribute to the cultural and economic development of nations. This protection fulfils a decisive role in articulating the contributions and rights of different stakeholders and the relation between them and the public. The purpose of copyright and related rights is twofold: to encourage a dynamic creative culture, while returning value to creators so that they can lead a dignified economic existence, and to provide widespread, affordable access to content for the public.

Faculty of Theology Plagiarism Guidelines During the course of your studies at the Faculty of Theology (the “Faculty”) you will be exposed to the intellectual work, products or expressions of others. In an attempt to assist you to use these sources properly and with academic integrity the Faculty has compiled the guidelines below. The purpose of these guidelines is to assist you to identify and deal scrupulously with sources and to guide you in how to avoid plagiarism.

Academic Integrity and Referencing: How to Reference your research sources

Bibliographic reference management In a world of e-research, there are more data sources available than ever before, which means researchers need highly efficient ways to manage vast amounts of information easily.

Make sense of referencing – The Harvard, APA and Vancouver methods and the footnote system (E-Book Online available Click on the web link) Published by the Stellenbosch University Language Centre, © 2012
Maak sin van verwysings : die Harvard-, APA- en Vancouver-metode en die voetnootstelsel. (E-Boek Aanlyn beskikbaar: Kliek op die web skakel) Published by the Stellenbosch University Language Centre, © 2012

Stellenbosch Harvard referencing: A-Z List
This page contains:
Sources on referencing
Layout of bibliographic records (rules)
A-Z list of examples

The SBL Handbook of Style: for biblical studies and related disciplines by Society of Biblical Literature (SBL) The SBL Handbook of Style has been thoroughly updated to reflect the latest practices among scholars, editors, and publishers as well as to take into account current trends in scholarly publishing. This edition has been meticulously supplemented with important new subject matter that fills gaps in the first edition. Chapters and sections have been reorganized and restructured to be more intuitive and logical.
Call Number: Open Shelf ; TEOL 808.027 SBL
ISBN: 9781589839656
Publication Date: 2014

The Student Supplement by Society of Biblical Literature (SBL) handbook of style [Download here]
Student Supplement by theThe Society of Biblical Literature (SBL) Handbook of Style, Second Edition.
APA referencing
YouTube Video: A step by step guide for APA referencing for students Start the semester right with an in-depth webinar on creating accurate and complete APA Style student papers. In this webinar, APA Style experts will show simple ways to set up student papers (typeface, line spacing, margins, page numbers, etc.), with an emphasis on how default word-processing software settings align with seventh edition style. The experts will then focus on the sections included in all student papers: title page, text, and reference list, with a brief discussion of tables and figures as well. They will walk through the elements needed for each section and then systematically address any needs for different typeface, line spacing, and alignment within those sections—for example, how those factors affect the format of headings, section labels, block quotations, and table and figure labels. The session will conclude with final steps for organizing papers and strengthening their overall quality and presentation.
YouTube video: Citing Works in Text Using Seventh Edition APA Style The seventh edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association and the Concise Guide to APA Style offer updated and expanded guidance on citing works in the text of APA Style papers. It is now easier than ever to write in-text citations and clearly and accurately attribute your sources. Join the style experts as they provide an in-depth look at the APA Style citation system, including how to create and format in-text citations for all types of print and online works, integrate source material into a paper, and cite at an appropriate level. The session will also answer some of writers’ most frequent citation questions: how to paraphrase versus directly quote from a work, how to cite long paraphrases from a single source, when to include a page or paragraph number in a citation, and how to cite when a work has no page numbers. The webinar will then provide hands-on practice implementing this information by showing examples of correct ways to format citations for paraphrased and quoted text and the opportunity to practice integrating sources and writing in-text citations. An extended question and answer session at the end will give attendees the opportunity to ask their own questions about APA Style in-text citations. Don’t miss out on this webinar to access firsthand knowledge of and additional resources to ease the process of writing in-text citations in seventh edition APA Style.
Chicago Manual of Style

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff
Call Number: Reference ; TEOL R 808.0270973 CHI
ISBN: 9780226287058
Publication Date: 2017

EndNote 21 NEW in 2024 Online Reference management tool

EndNote 21 : Introducing EndNote 21 LibGuide
Accelerate your research

EndNote is a reference manager that helps you save time formatting citations, so you can focus on your research.
EndNoteTraining YouTube videos and Tutorials
This video provides an overview tour of the new features added in EndNote 21. These enhancements include the introduction of library tags, exclusive access to the new EndNote Web, enhanced restoration and recovery options and library sharing with up to 1,000 colleagues.

• For academics, individuals and students: https://endnote.com/downloads/30-day-...
• For Corporation: https://clarivate.com/webofsciencegro...
EnDNote Training by Clarivate
EndNote is widely regarded as one of the world's best reference managers. It helps you save time, stay organised, collaborate with colleagues and to get published.

ZOTERO - Online Reference management tool

Zotero is a web-based bibliographic management tool that gathers, stores and manages bibliographic references and that can be used to create bibliographies

Zotero website
Your personal research assistant
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.
Zotero Quick Start Guide
.
Zotero: YouTube video Tutorials

Mendeley - Online Reference management tool

Mendeley LibGuide

Mendeley is a web-based bibliographic management tool that gathers, stores, and manages bibliographic references and that can be used to create bibliographies

Book available:Mendeley : crowd-sourced reference and citation management in the infomation era
Book: Guide on how to use Mendeley available at the Stellenbosch University Library and Information Service
Mendeley website
Easy referencing
Generate references, citations and bibliographies in a whole range of journal styles with just a few clicks.
Access your library, everywhere
Add papers directly from your browser with a few clicks or import any documents from your desktop. Access your library from anywhere. Windows, Mac, Linux and all browsers.
Mendeley: YouTube video Tutorials

Find

Using the Library

Research

Learning

Libraries

Help

About Us

South African Church history in Global Perspective: Research and Academic Integrity

Stellenbosch University Academic Integrity and Referencing

Academic Integrity and Referencing: What it is and Why it is important?

Academic Integrity and Referencing: How to Reference your research sources

EndNote 21 NEW in 2024 Online Reference management tool

ZOTERO - Online Reference management tool

Mendeley - Online Reference management tool