-
- Library AND Information Service
-
| 1) Follow the full-text link from databases, OR |
| 2) Search A-Z list of e-journals by journal title, OR |
| 3) Search article titles on Google Scholar |
| 4) Enhance your search strategies with Google Scholar |
Submit your interlibrary request online at no cost
* Scopus
Scopus from Elsevier is a comprehensive abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with links to full text. Features tools to track, analyse and visualize research and provides bibliometrics for researchers' output.
Training material
* Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index and Journal Citations Reports. Provides links to full text. Features tools to track, analyse and visualize research and provides bibliometrics for researchers' output.
Training material
* SciFinder-n The choice for chemistry research: a one-stop search for: substances (editor for chemical structure drawing available), reactions, journal references, MethodsNow, retrosynthesis planning, patents, and commercial source data.
Use your existing SciFinder credentials to log into SciFinder-n.
First-time users should go to the registration page at https://ez.sun.ac.za/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=A62F817B-86F3-5055-48F7-37DC9AA75526 to register as a CAS user before they continue to SciFinder-n
Training tutorials
* ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters
Training material
* ClinicalKey
A dynamic clinical resource. Also covers images and videos
* IEEE Explore (Bioinformatics coverage) IEEE also indexed on SCOPUS
* Reaxys
Reaxys is a unique web-based chemistry workflow solution which supports research and fuels discovery by integrating searches for reaction and substance data with synthesis planning and chemical sourcing
Training material
* Search PATENTS as an additional source for information
* PubMed (also included in Scopus)
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals and online books
Contact your Faculty librarian!
SciVal is Elsevier’s research performance assessment tool that allows the visualization of research performance, benchmarking and identification and analysis of emerging research trends. The tool is based on Scopus bibliometric information as well as various other data sources such as awarded grants, patent-cited papers, and news media. The research performance of over 22,000 research institutions from more than 230 nations worldwide can be analyzed
Please sign in with your Elsevier (Scopus or ScienceDirect) username and password or with your Institutional credentials. SciVal first time registration on campus!
This session, presented by SU AgriSciences librarian, focuses on learning about literature reviews: to search, identify, select and critically appraise literature.
