Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Chemistry & Polymer Science: Finding articles / databases

Quick access to full text articles

1)  Follow the full-text link from databases, OR
2) Search A-Z list of e-journals by journal title, OR
3)  Search article titles on Google Scholar  

Off-campus access to Wiley, RSC and ACS journals

For easy access to Wiley, RSC and ACS journals off-campus, follow the following links:

Wiley
RSC
ACS

ChemRxiv

The reprint server for Chemistry & Polymer Science
Supported by the American Chemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry and the German Chemical Society (GDCh)

Key databases for Chemistry and Polymer Science

 

SciFinder-n  The choice for chemistry research: a one-stop search for: substances (editor for chemical structure drawing available), reactions, journal references, MethodsNow, retrosynthesis planning,  patents, and commercial source data.

Use your existing SciFinder credentials to log into SciFinder-n.
First-time users should go to the registration page at https://ez.sun.ac.za/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=A62F817B-86F3-5055-48F7-37DC9AA75526 to register as a CAS user before they continue to SciFinder-n
Training tutorials


Reaxys: search for substances, reactions, literature documents and bioactivities
Training material

Cambridge Crystallographic Database
Comprehensive and up-to-date database of crystal structures

Scopus
Scopus from Elsevier is a comprehensive abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Also includes Medline (PubMed). Lists substances with search results
Training material

KNOVEL
Full text chemistry books & property searches, equations, unit converter searches, interactive periodic table and many more tools!

Web of Science
Web of Science provides access to Science Citation Index and Journal Citation Reports. Also features bibliometrics tools to analyse results
Training material

ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters
Training material

Requesting books and articles not available in SU Libraries

Your book or article not in our library? 
Submit your interlibrary request online