Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Mathematics: Finding articles / Databases

Open resources during COVID-19

Publishers from all around the world opened their resources to support Higher Education during lockdown.
Visit our COVID-19 Library Guide for optimum use. Off-campus access should not be limited!

Quick access to full text articles

1)  Follow the full-text link from databases, OR
2) Search A-Z list of e-journals by journal title, OR
3)  Search article titles on Google Scholar  

Requesting books and articles not available in SUN Libraries

Your book or article not in our library? 
Submit your interlibrary request online

Search for print journals in the Library

Key Mathematics databases

Finding full text articles not available from databases (A-Z list of e-journals)

* Google Scholar
(Activate links to Stellenbosch University full text electronic journals from Google Scholar settings)
 

Specialized databases

MathSciNet
The key database for mathematicians: MathSciNet® (a product of the American Mathematical Society, AMS) is a fully searchable database with many tools designed to help navigate the mathematical sciences literature. Author profile personalization page available as well as author citation metrics.
Searching tutorials


ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a full-text scientific database of peer-reviewed journals and  a large selection of electronic books

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and features tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Article full text links from "view at publisher" or SFX link to SUN Library A-Z electronic journals.

Web of Science
Web of Science from Thomson Reuters provides access to Science Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index and Book Citation Index– Science. Also features bibliometrics tools to analyse results.  Article full text links or SFX link to SUN Library A-Z electronic journals.

e-Prints

An e-print repository in physics, mathematics, computer science and related disciplines 

Access to PressReader

PressReader provides online access to over 7200 newspapers and magazines, including more than 200 from South Africa. 
Download the PressReader app for your mobile devices

Quick access:

Nature 1997+ 
New Scientist 2013+  
Science 1997+ (Visit JSTOR Archive for issues 1880-2014)
Scientific American preceding 4 years to present (Visit JSTOR Archive for issues 1845+)