History: Assignment History 114 -Dr Kotze

Topic 1: Agricultural revolution

Short loans BOOKS

• Western Civilization - J Spielvogel : Chapter 1
• Farming in Prehistory - Bender
• The first farmers - Leonard, J

• Inside the neolithic mind: consciousness, cosmos and the realm of the gods
• Neolithic
• Civilizations – Perry Chapter 1
• Farming in prehistory – B Bender

Use keywords for book searches and databases Academic Search Premier & Google Scholar and JSTOR

"agricultural societies"

Hunter gatherers

Domestication of animals

"Neolithic revolution"

Topic 2: Civilisation

Short loans BOOKS

• Civilizations – Perry Page 9+
• Western Civilization - J Spielvogel Chapter 1-3
• Western Experience Vol 1 – A Knopf
• Collapse. How societies choose to fail or survive – J Diamond
• Guns, germs and steel – J Diamond

Topic 3: Fossils

Fossil record of human family tree (book titles on Short Loans)

• The fossil Chronicles
•  Seven Skeletons
•   A Search for Origins
•  The Piltdown men

•             The Human Past – S Scarre  Chapter 2

•             Cradle of life – V Carruthers

•             Field guide to the Cradle of Human Kind – B Hilton-Barber

•             Born in Africa – M Meredith

•             The complete of Human Evolution – C Stinger

•             The Human dawn – Published by Timeframe

•             Human evolutionary genetics – M Tobling

Use keywords for book searches and databases Academic Search Premier & Google Scholar and JSTOR

Keywords:

“Human origins”

“Human evolution” AND hoax

Piltdown

Topic 4; Roman civilization

Short loans BOOKS

• Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean Vol 1 p 75-84
• Civilizations – Perry Chapter 7
• Western Experience – A Knopf Volume 1
• The fall of Rome – M Chambers
• Decline and fall of the Roman Empire – D Kagan

Use keywords for book searches and databases Academic Search Premier & Google Scholar and JSTOR

“Roman civilisation”

“Fall of Roman empire”

Topic 5: Black Death

Short loans BOOKS

• Dictionary of the Middle Ages Volume 2 (Very important source!)
• The Black Death – R Gottfried
• The Black Death – P Ziegler
• The Black Death and the transformation of the West – D Herlihy
• The Black Death 1346 – 1353. The complete history – O Benedictow
• The Great Mortality – J Kelly
• Epidemics and Pandemics: their impacts on Human history – JN Hays
• In the wake of the plague – N Cantor
• Captivating History: The Black Death

Use keywords for book searches and databases Academic Search Premier & Google Scholar and JSTOR

“bubonic plague”

“black death”

Topic 6: Renaissance artists and explorers

Books on this topic are available on the lower level at the yellow discs at 940.21

Reference books on lower leveL (green discs):

 R940.2 NEW,

 R940.1303 ENC

Topic 7 : Industrial Revolution

• The Industrial Revolution in Britain – P Taylor
• A short History of a British Industrial Revolution – E Griffin
• The British Industrial Revolution in Global perspective – R Allen
• The Enlightened Economy – J Mokyer
• Behemoth – J Freeman
• Western Civilization - J Spielvogel chapter 20
• Civilization – Perry chapter 21
• The Western Experience – A Knopf volume 2 chapters 19 + 20

Use keywords for book searches and databases Academic Search Premier & Google Scholar and JSTOR

"industrial revolution"

 Britain

Topic 8: The Scramble for Africa

Short loans BOOKS

• Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara - volume 1 (colonialism / imperialism) pages 316?
• Encylopedia of African history - volume 1 pages 264+
• General history of Africa: Africa under colonial domination, volume VII

Books on Reference: R960.3 , Green discs

Books on open shelves: 960.3, Yellow discs

Use keywords in databases Academic Search Premier & Google Scholar and JSTOR

"Berlin conference"

Africa

colonisation

imperialism

"scramble for Africa"

Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara - volume 1 (colonialism / imperialism) R967.003 ENC

Encylopedia of African history - volume 1 pages 264+  R960.03 Enc