Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
  • Library AND Information Service

Forest and Wood Science: Databases & finding articles

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

Interlibrary loans

Key Forest and Wood Science databases

For the complete list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to, use the Databases A-Z link

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Quick access to full text articles

  • Follow the full-text link from the database ("Find It" Button)
  • Search the A-Z list of our journals available online by journal title
  • Search article titles on Google Scholar (Activate access to SUN full text journals from the Google Scholar Settings)
  • Use Unpaywall to find legal free versions of articles
  • EndNote Click (formerly Kopernio) provides one-click access to millions of journal articles and academic research papers worldwide, improving and facilitating access to scholarly articles.