Industrial Engineering: Databases & finding articles

What is a database?

A database is an electronic index to journal or magazine articles, containing citations, abstracts and often either the full text of the articles, or links to the full text.

What is an academic/peer-reviewed article?

Peer-reviewed or academic articles are articles written by academics/experts/researchers on a specific field of study. These articles usually contain a bibliography at the end of the article and information on the author’s academic qualifications and university at the beginning of the article. A peer-reviewed journal article was reviewed by people with credentials in the article's field of study before being accepted for publication.

Interlibrary loans

Request an interlibrary loan
Request a book or journal article not available at SU Library Service. For staff and registered students only.

Key Engineering databases

For the complete list of all the databases that the SU Library Service subscribes to, use the Databases A-Z link

AccessEngineering
An engineering reference and teaching platform that delivers world-renowned, interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. Provides access to the latest editions of renowned engineering handbooks and textbooks.
Creamer Media's research channel: Africa

Intelligence on industry and mining. (Logon codes needed. Call 021 808 4884 or email suliseresources@sun.ac.za)
DieselNet
Engine & emission technology online—since 1997
Engineering Village: Compendex
An interdisciplinary engineering and applied science database. Apart from all the engineering disciplines, coverage includes applied physics, astronomy, bioengineering, biotechnology, materials science and nanotechnology.
YouTube training video and other training material
IEEE Xplore
The IEEE Xplore digital library provides access to scientific and technical content published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and its publishing partners. The content covers electrical engineering, computer science, biotechnology, telecommunications, power and energy, and electronics.
IET Digital Library

The IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) journals portfolio includes over 40 journals, covering a wide range of engineering and technology fields. All the journals are fully Open Access and accessible through the IET Research Hub page on Wiley Online Library. Conference proceedings are not part of the IET Research Hub.

Knovel
Engineering data and technical references to solve engineering problems
YouTube training video
ScienceDirect
A leading full-text scientific database
Scopus
A comprehensive interdisciplinary database of peer-reviewed literature. Features tools to analyze and visualize research. Training material
Web of Science
A large, broad-based abstracting database with direct links to journal articles. Also features bibliometrics tools to analyse results. Training material
AIAA Meeting Proceedings
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics